Nutritious Reading

Standard

This morning I was folding my laundry, and yelling up the stairs for my children to come down and help. (*sheepish* I know, I oughtn’t yell up the stairs… I can hear my friend now, reminding me that my Mom did that, and if I don’t want to be my Mom… I shouldn’t yell, even if it is only to get the kids attention. After all, as she says, a walk up the stairs to *talk* to the children face to face can only do us both good. Hi Mom! Love ya!) Lo and behold, mid yell, I was uninterrupted by a timid knock at my door.
And in all my holey-yoga-pants and spit-up-covered-tank-top glory, one hand full of laundry, and 2 children hanging on to my legs on either side, I opened it to find: 2 well dressed folks carrying NWT Bibles.
Yipes. Jehovah’s Witnesses. 
I suppose after 4 years of living in the bustling metropolis of Shamrock, I am overdue for a visit from them… But, behind me I have piles of laundry on the couch, children running about in their underpants, and a pile of baby stuff all over the floor. I thought, there is NOTHING that can induce me to allow anyone in my house, least of all an utter stranger. I stood in the door, bracing myself for the inevitable doctrinal confrontation, and thinking to myself, “There is no way that I, or my house, are ready for this.
They began to talk, and I mentally scrambled to keep up. I politely quoted scripture to them, made it clear I attend a local church, am well aware of what Jehovah’s witnesses are all about, and study the Bible regularly.  They were lovely, and very smiley. Not at all as confrontational as I expected. Visions of my childhood flew past, and I felt immediate regret after closing my door. I COULD have used this as an opportunity to preach the gospel to THEM, but to be frank, I was a bit rusty, I couldn’t remember the last time I read my Bible just to READ it. Not to rebut someone, make a point, or look up a specific issue. I was rusty. I have spent all of my spare time reading other things.
Not that there is anything wrong with Piper, or Calvin, or Rushdoony. They are all GOOD ways to further study scripture, but reading Francis Chan’s new book is like eating cake as opposed to an omelet with veggies in it. There is not much nutrition. It tastes good, it is good, and it gives me some calories, but really, The Bible is my main source of MEAT. I’ve been consuming empty doctrine. What is that without reading scripture first and foremost? I felt ashamed today that I lost a very important opportunity, mostly because I’ve been seeking feel good books that do all of the work for me, instead of making scripture a priority.

And once I had thought on it further, I realized it affected so many other things as well. The things I think on, speak for, adhere to, and advocate for were man made causes. Not that it isn’t a good thing to fight for the abolition of abortion, or an awareness of how our lives as Christians should impact all of life, including how we vote and act within our communities, but that I’d put these causes above the gospel. These things ought to be ways to convey the gospel, not replacements OF the gospel. In all of my passionate advocacy, and voracious reading I had neglected the source of all of these things, to a point where it was no longer more important than anything else.

I guess I realized that if our passion isn’t God, his Word, or how to live it, everything else falls apart. If we think that OUR conviction is more important than God’s Word, and OUR performance as a good Christian is where the meat of our Christian life rests, we have missed the mark. As Paul states in I Phillipians 3:14, “I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” All of the works in the world, no matter how wonderful, when not in light of the cross, are worthless. Our intentions aren’t important, the gospel is, and if what we are doing excludes the gospel for something more important, we’ve lost the most important thing.  Ultimately, living for good works can become our idol. We cannot “save” people from whatever ails them, without first recognizing that without the regenerative power of the Holy Spirit, and a realization of the gospel, Christ’s saving power, they will be saved from nothing. The gospel, then, MUST be central to everything we do, or it is useless.  And how can we preach the gospel, if we neglect the only infallible work that proclaims it in every word? The Bible is first, and foremost, our source on the gospel, and how it reaches into every corner of our hearts, and our lives.
Van Gogh The Bible

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

