“What you do for the Least of These, You do for Me.”

Standard

Motherhoodcalling

As I have been watching events unfold in Texas regarding the 20 week abortion ban, I am yet again convicted about my role in the abortion debate. My own story has led me to a passionate response to this atrocity our nation allows day in and day out. While I rejoice in the thousands of babies who may be saved by the legislation just passed in Texas, our work is far from over. There are many more babies heading to be killed, and many more Mothers who are in a moment of desperation, and fear.

I have spoken with my husband at length about my burning desire to be of use, to do more than post my testimony on my blog. To be a tangible blessing to another Mom. Even if it is just one. I want to HELP. I want to do more than talk about abolishing human abortion. I want to be an active part in living my life in such a way that my actions are a direct result of scripture. Of Christ’s work. So I talked to my husband about the options, and he had some valuable insights and suggestions. After speaking with him, and a few other trusted advisors in my life, I found some practical ways in which I can serve, and I ask you to help me.

Titus Family Outreach

Some time ago, unable to fathom the idea of *only* serving in my home, I jumped at the chance to try and found the Titus Family Outreach in my church. I meant it to be a homeschoolers group that encouraged Mamas to homeschool, and not to be scared off by pressure from friends, family members, and anyone else who thought homeschooling was one giant crock. Due to lack of interest, the group lost steam, and I was left with a plane that barely left the ground. Oh yeah, and an empty FB page with 4 likes. Fail. So much for my plans. God had other ideas. I still don’t know what they are… but I do know what I’ve got in hand.

So, tonight, as I purposed to follow my husband’s advice, and set up a *new* facebook page to suit these purposes, I was reminded by facebook about my abandoned page. Whoops. Wait a minute…. this is empty anyway! And I am looking to help families… Ok. USING!

So it has a new purpose.

What is the plan?

Those in the Pro Life community know about the concept of sidewalk counseling. You stand outside of a clinic, pray with those who enter, and then pray that they are convicted of the value of the life they carry. You hope against hope that they do not abort. You may direct them to a nearby Crisis Pregnancy Center, which may or may not be an option for them at that very moment, or ever.
I recently read about this ministry I found to be inspiring, and a direct response to Christ’s command to care for “The Least of these.” It is called Save The Storks. In this ministry they park a van that is equipped with the tools needed to do a sonogram, and to deliver the gospel to hurting women. They park this bus near abortion clinics and bring help TO these women, as opposed to directing them to help that may or may not be nearby, or immediately available. This ministry makes themselves available at the place of greatest need. I am not a sonogram technician, I am just a Mama of 4 who wants to help, but doesn’t have the talent or the ability to go it alone. I was inspired though by another Mom who wrote a beautiful post (which I can’t find, sadly!) about how she and her children handed out flowers the week of Mother’s day, with scripture and encouragement, all near an abortion clinic. Her courage, and her conviction was a balm to my soul.

I would like to invite you to join me. I would like to ask you to join a community of women, who are able, and willing, to offer help to those who may consider an abortion, but who have needs that must be met. I want to live out what I know is true. Speaking is not enough, we have to be doers of the word. (James 1)
Christ spoke during his ministry about the importance of serving others.
“For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36 I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ 37 Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? 38 And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? 39 And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ 40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ Matthew 25:35-40

James 1:27 says:

“Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.”

How will we do this?
By creating a community of able women and families, we can work together to provide tangible help to women in need. I will do the legwork in my city, visiting the local Planned Parenthood on the days they perform abortions, and offering women help. I will ask them what their needs are, and share their testimonies, and needs on the Titus Family Outreach page on facebook. This will be a Pro life craigslist, if you will. We will be a physical resource to women in our community, offering our talents, our abilities, and also importantly, our blessings to share with those in need. We have so much to share, to give, and so many ways to serve.
For example, if I had met 18 year old pregnant me at an abortion clinic, I would find that I needed items for the baby, help meeting baby’s specific needs (nutritional needs, and housing needs.) and emotional and spiritual support. I will be the hands and feet, and you will be the source. I will publish the needs, and as a community, we will try to meet them. I know I have the resources and abilities to be of assistance, I have no shortage of baby clothing, baby items, and a willing heart, and ear, ready to listen, and ready to comfort. What do you have that you can contribute? Will you join me in being that tangible help outside the clinic doors? Will you join me in praying for these women before we meet them? And in being ready, and willing, to help meet their needs as they arise? So many people accuse those who are pro life of not caring for these babies once they are born, let us not be hearers of the word, but let us be doers, caring for the fatherless in their moment of need, and let us be his hands and feet, living out the gospel to those in need.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

    • 🙂 Thanks Penny! On my Facebook page I linked (in the comments) the Titus Family Outreach facebook page. That will be the point of communication to and with everyone. Click on the link I provided on my FB, and “Like” the page for updates! 🙂 Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

