Just a Season

Standard

imagesLately, as I’m struggling through a few things at a time, I’ve had to say to myself often: This is just a season. A short time in my life, that while it is overwhelming now, will eventually pass, and become a memory of a moment. I wish I had known this before, as it has been helpful in enduring things that are difficult, and with patience I’ve never experienced before.  But then, God hadn’t matured me that far yet.  This is just a season. We are facing so much right now, things that seem insurmountable, impossible to live through, but if being married for 5 years, parenting children for 6, and seeing God work through all of that has taught me anything, it is that a brief moment of suffering, discomfort, and difficulty does not define who I am. God does. He created me, he has a purpose, a plan for me (Jeremiah 29:11) and this moment of sanctification will work as he intends, for good (Romans 8:28.)

Today, during my personal devotions, I found comfort in Psalm 139:
”    O LORD, you have searched me and known me!
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.
You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it.
Where shall I go from your Spirit?
Or where shall I flee from your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, you are there!
If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!
If I take the wings of the morning
and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
even there your hand shall lead me,
and your right hand shall hold me.
If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me,
and the light about me be night,”
(Psalm 139:1-11 ESV)

No matter what my husband and I face, however hard it is, and however I may wish to change these circumstances, there is a peace, and a patience that comes with the “Just a season” concept. Sanctification isn’t easy, but it is worthwhile, as day by day, we become more like Christ.  I hope this thought is encouraging to someone, anyone, because I know it is comforting to me. I wish I had known it years ago… 🙂 But then, it was what happened years ago, that has matured me to what I am today. Regrets? There are none, just thankfulness in the Almighty hand of God in my life. His ways are not my ways, and I do not know what he is doing (Ecc 3:11) but I do know it will be good.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

One response »

Leave a Reply

