Birth Story- Emma

Standard
Birth Story- Emma

With Emma, I also suffered three weeks of “false labor” but had enough sense this time to forego 5 or more hospital visits that were unneeded. A few days before she was due, I went in for my normal prenatal check up in the early morning. Thanks to checking my dilation, I started to spot. The Dr. told me that at 3 cm dilated with spotting, he’d be surprised if I didn’t go that very day.

I went home to “wait it out” (this is why I love my Doctor!) and promptly decided that NOW was a fantastic time to re organize ALL of the closets in my house! I ripped all of them out, put them ALL back together. Still I was spotting! at 4pm the Doctor called to find out how I was doing. When I told him I was still spotting and cleaning out my closets, he told me to get to the hospital NOW considering my quick labor during the last pregnancy.

My husband had just gone to work (at the local deli,) and so I called him, all frantic
“Honey the Dr. says I’m in labor! Hurry back home, it is time to take me in!”
“Ok! I’ll clean up and be there in ten minutes!”
I waited. 10 minutes…
15 minutes…
I called my Mother in Law to tell her to come get my 22 month old, Sarah.
20 minutes…
I called again. My husband answered.
“What are you STILL doing there?!”
“Well, a lady came and ordered a hoagie, so I made it for her, and my coworker said I gotta find a replacement before I leave, so I found one, she’ll be in soon.”

Needless to say, that isn’t where the conversation ended, I was in labor and I was MAD.

After that unpleasant scene, I hung up the phone.  I promptly grabbed my 22 month old, the hospital bag, and in a huff of indignant fury, I began to WALK, carrying both! I walked a mile down a hill, and a man from my workplace passed me in his car. I hid my face, knowing full well he would try to pick me up and give me a ride. NOT in the mood for that right now! I was headed to the Hospital! When I had just made it a mile down the road, both my husband AND my Mother in Law showed up. My Mother in law took our 22 month old, Sarah, and my husband popped me in the car.

We went straight to the hospital, where I asked for an epidural IMMEDIATELY. I was NOT skipping out on one this time!  I was roughly 5 cm when we got there. 4 hours and 10 minutes later, we had a healthy happy Emma weighing in at 7 lbs 8 oz. She had beautiful Blue eyes and Blonde hair. heart

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

