Why Aren’t My Kids Behaving?

Standard

Image

This week I’ve been in a bit of a funk. Feeling frustrated, tired, and totally inadequate.  I dealt with this the natural way, by seeking God in his Word by napping a lot and spending a ton of time on facebook.

After every nap I would wake up wondering: Why don’t I feel rested? Why are the kids so naughty? Feeling frustrated, and reading a post on facebook, I did a search on Biblical Character. “That is what they need!” I thought. “A bit of Biblical character! I’m so excited to start teaching that this school year!” As I was lamenting my lack of money for resources, curriculum, workbooks etc. It occurred to me, their recent lack of Biblical character stemmed from MY recent lack of Biblical character.  Whoops.  Here I had been laying around, watching movies, reading facebook, doing all the things I felt entitled to do in a funk. “I deserve to lay down, I’m tired.” I’d think. And then, I’d turn around and wonder why my kids were so lazy, not doing their chores, responding in snappy ways, and yelling at each other.

Oops.

“Biblical character begins at home.” I read. Yikes. Well… There hasn’t been an abundance of that around here lately. Guilty as charged. I’m so busy fighting somebody else’s battles on facebook, that I’m too tired to do the most important fighting. Fighting to glorify God in my own home. Back to square one. Time to get up, get moving, and actively serve God. One trip to the library and the nursing home don’t count. Time to dig in and get dirty, and sit with the girls while they clean their room, help them put their toys away, read the Bible with them (what better textbook is there?) and unplug the TV. Time to walk away from MY fight, and look to what Jesus has for me:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
Matthew 11:28-30

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

