Life As A Cheapskate! (Or, the Pinterest Post)

Standard

The more I see of my friend’s pins on pinterest, the more ideas I get, and the more sure I am that going through my friend’s pins takes up enough of my time without joining pinterest to boot! Haha!  So anyway, I have a friend’s birthday coming up, and I wanted to do something special for her! The more I thought and thought, the more I realized that absolutely nothing I could afford was special enough. So, I made something. Something that combined all of the things I know about her into one object! And yeah… I did Pinterest stalk to see what kind of quotes she likes, and what kind of home decoration items caught her eye! Proverbs 31 comes to mind in moments like these, moments where I think of the woman bringing goods from afar, clothing her household in scarlet, etc. This Proverbs 31 lady did not order stuff online and call it a day! She purposed to serve others, and she took time, and sought out the best she could with what she had, AND more importantly, she wasted nothing! It says “her husband need fear no spoil.” ( I loosely paraphrased…)

So, when it came time to make a craft, I’ve tried my best to make the best with what I’ve got! Some recent goodies were my scripture windows, which I made with all things found in my attic, sewing box, with my laptop, and in my pen drawer.  The final thing looked like this:

Image

Image

I was pretty happy with the whole thing!

So I felt confidant enough to try my hand at frugal crafting again! I don’t have the money to hit up Michael’s or AC Moore, even with coupons, so it was another case of raid the sewing box! I found this idea on my friend’s pinterest and was intrigued. I wondered how simple it would be to gather what I had, and buy what I didn’t? I dismissed it as too expensive, but was SO surprised by what I found when pricing items. Let me tellya, Walmart is not my favorite place, but it has its uses! $1 spray paint  and 50 cent stickers being one of them!

So I started with this:

Image

Image

This version of the pinterest project included $4.50 worth of letter stickers, $1 worth of spray paint, an old pillowcase for fabric (FREE!) and a canvas I found in my husband’s art stash left over from his college days as an artist. Now not everyone has said stash, but I’ve heard they run roughly $5 for smallish ones at craft stores. Overall it cost me about $6, but it could run $11-$12ish.  I stapled the cut pillowcase onto the canvas, put the stickers on the fabric, and then spray painted! Took me about an hour overall (those letters are tricky!) After it dried, I pulled the letters off. B-e-a-utiful! But I felt it needed some pizzaz! So I got to work!  Now, I am the Mom who saves some of the stained old ugly baby clothing in a HUGE bag, so I can cut them up later and not pay for notions, and this comes in handy for crafting too! and even better… they were hand-me downs! That translates to SUPER FREE!
So… I did this:

Image

Image

I found me some fabric glue, and I set to work! First I laid out the stuff, but I didn’t like the first try, so the notions got a second go. Leftovers ended up in the sewing basket for next time. Here is the first try, it struck me as too gaudy:

Image

So the second time around I liked the layout, and glued it on promptly! It ended up like this:

Image

So there you have it! for a grand total of $6 I made this! I feel accomplished. And I have no idea if it is even worth $6, but hopefully my friend will find it to be priceless! ❤ I really want it to communicate that not only do I love her and care for her, but that God has plans for her life that are even more precious than she can imagine, and that knowledge alone is more valuable than gold!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

