Getting in the Groove as a SAHM

Standard

I’m going to try (no promises, and no declarations, those only get me in trouble!!!) to update this blog regularly, now that we’ve gotten into a SAHM groove. Here is a mundane update of our mundane existence, and as banal as it may seem some days, I’m trying to remember what God’s Word says about those little things:


We’ve established a loose schedule around here, and frankly I’m quite thrilled that it is over the summer! Integrating schoolwork into our week seems a bit intimidating, but as we go, I think it will become easier and easier.

Our goals for the summer are slowly being accomplished:

  • One big project a week:  We’ve accomplished the dining room, living room, and large portions of the school room and garden.  Not to mention a few crafty things. 🙂
  • Maintain a (somewhat) normal schedule. We have discernible days of the week! Mission accomplished!
  • Continue to accomplish the basic housework daily such as: dishes, laundry, and bedrooms.

What does a typical day for us look like? I’m gonna start with the practical, and move on to more philosophical thoughts as I go, because frankly, the practical is what I’m living right now! Philosophy tends to trip me up in daily living.
We begin the day with establishing habits.

Morning routine includes (but not necessarily in this order!)

  1. Beds get made, bodies get dressed. Bedrooms get cleaned.
  2. Daily devotions (a habit I’m not always stellar at maintaining…)
  3. Breakfast
  4. The daily load of laundry. As Flylady says, “A load a day keeps the chaos away!”

We do this every day no matter what the day holds, and I must confess, while at first it was refreshing, in week 3 of SAHMotherhood, I’m struggling to keep doing it, because I find it boring. I’ve spiced it up with some music on the radio. (Whatever suits your taste, I like something peppy and dancey!)

Some days we end up going somewhere, a playdate, or to do housecleaning, which I do to maintain my SAHM status, or it is a staying home all day big project day, in which case we do nothing but a big project! These happen once a week or so, since 2 days a week the morning is a housecleaning day, and two other mornings a week disappear into thin air. How? I don’t know. They just do. Maybe I should keep better track of time?

After lunch we usually do nap, where I get some incidental work done, weeding maybe, or weekly baking, or perhaps some catch up cooking  and preserving of gardening harvest. This is where I do what isn’t really “work” but that accomplishes something. This time I savor, and I facebook with other Moms for encouragement.

This is all still a work in progress, but the goal is to make every day purposeful, to teach with intention through every moment, every experience, and to “do all for the Glory of God.”  Each day is full of baby steps meant to hone and perfect the full time job that is being a SAHM, training my kids to be a part of God’s kingdom, but we are SO not there yet! Hopefully someone else along the same journey is encouraged by our triumphs and struggles as well!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

