So It’s Been Awhile

Standard

I haven’t blogged very much since I went back to work from maternity leave for Ava, mostly because I was instead trying to juggle work, children, husband,  in that order.  Somewhere, somehow, God got a hold of my heart. I KNEW something needed to change, and change it did. Its been an interesting journey, but ever since I came back from maternity leave my heart was elsewhere. Work was no longer my passion, something that had died in me, and I realized that I needed to learn more about what God has for my life, not what I want for my life. I started digging, really digging, and felt newly convicted every day that my first ministry, my first responsibility is at home, with my husband, with my children. What once was thought of as a rash career move, now became reality.

Roughly a month or more ago, Governor Corbitt cut funding to my T.E.A.C.H. scholarship. This was the contract that held me back from resigning, as it kept me an employee with no less than 30 hours a week until June. I had planned to resign in June. With the cut in funding, I did some investigative work. I thought my contract would no longer be valid, and the program entirely discontinued, but found instead that although it is still valid, I am in a phase of my contract in which I can leave, without consequence. I have fulfilled my contractual obligations as far as credits, grades etc. and am free to leave. The only consequence of not finishing my “commitment period” till June, is no longer being eligible to receive the T.E.A.C.H. scholarship. (Since funding is cut to it, I wouldn’t be getting it back anyway.) This, coupled with my Mom’s declining health, was the decision maker. So, I quit. It is no coincidence that for the last year bit by bit, step by step, circumstances have led to this.  Too many to blog about, little things like happenings at work, scriptures I’ve read, (all for another post.) things I’d heard, tugs at my heart. God has been preparing me for this. Right down to his provision of money to replace our lost income.

So many many scriptures and prayers, and chats with my Bible study ladies. (shout outs to DIYparenting Jenny, and Shepherd Valley Farm Linda, plus many more encouraging ladies. Thanks for walking beside me, and pushing me onward, it has meant the world to me.)  Now here I am, almost a year later, and finally home with my children!

So here I am, finally at home with my little ones! I don’t know how much I shall be blogging, as it will (this time) take a backseat to my duties as a wife and mom.  So much has changed in these short months. I don’t know what I’ll be blogging about now, whatever God puts on my heart really, but, as always, I am still a crazy crazy Mom!! 🙂

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

5 responses »

  1. I love that you were able to work through the decision and be at peace with it. God is so Good! Now if I ever get up to K town you will be home!

Leave a Reply

