Wherein I Offend Many Of My Readers, Making A Stand

Standard

Recently, I read this blog post about Christ.  While I usually let these things pass on in silence, I felt an inner need to make a stand.  To speak up about who Jesus is.

Firstly, although in this article he is compared to many other dieties, and the point (I believe) is to point out that Christ is NOT in fact original, but is most likely mankind’s fabrication based on an inner need, that is not what struck me most.  What really hit me full on was this quote:

Perhaps we don’t need to say that ‘MY WAY is the way to salvation’, or spend our lives trying to ‘convert’ others to what we feel is the ONLY way to paradise/heaven/nirvana, etc.

Perhaps, when it comes down to it, we are merely yet another generation of mankind trying to find the answers based on things written by previous members of mankind, who may have based their stories on what had occurred before them, oral traditions and folk tales.

Jesus, Mohammed, Lord, God, Allah, Flying Spaghetti Monster, Worshipping Oneself or bowing to nothing at all…maybe they are all right, maybe they are all wrong.

I know that relative truth is a popular doctrine these days, and that everybody wants to just get along, and you believe what you want, and I’ll believe what I want, and we’ll all go to heaven.

Here is my rebuttal to this: Conviction is not a bad thing.  Faith is about having a conviction.  If I can say my faith might be wrong, my faith could possibly not be the right faith, your faith could be the right faith, then why on earth would I believe what I do, if it could be wrong?   I have chosen Christ because he is “The way, the truth and the life” and because he said “No man comes unto the Father but by me.” (John 14:6)  I know that “Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” (Hebrews 11:1) and I choose this faith because it is right.  I won’t force anyone else to believe it, that would defeat the very nature of faith.  As for my part,  I KNOW it is truth.  I am not incapable of questioning, I have questioned, I have walked away, I have chosen other things, and I have come right back home to the truth.

If your son told you the grass was purple, NOT green, would you say, “Its ok Bob, your grass is different than my grass.  Just because we don’t believe in the same grass, doesn’t make us wrong!”

Now take it one step further.  If Bob was going to jump off of a bridge, saying he believed it wouldn’t hurt him, would you say the same? “Its ok Bob, your fall is not my fall, it won’t hurt you if you believe it won’t hurt you, go ahead and jump. You aren’t wrong, and I’m not wrong.” Would you say that?

Thats how I feel about God.  It is true.  Not because I believe it, or because it is my faith, but because God is REAL. His word is TRUE.  Like that fall, to walk away from God would be death to me.

” But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.”

Joshua 24:15

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

