What Do I Believe About Education? (Mom, Not Teacher)

Standard

Tonight I had the pleasure of attending a MARS meeting, one which I hope to repeat (Babysitters welcome!) The subject was one, which to some, is very controversial.  I know each of my forays into the topic of education have been VERY controversial.  However, it was such an encouragement to be affirmed and reminded of why I believe what I do about education.

What do I believe about education? (Not the teacher me, the Mom me.  The teacher me is limited in my beliefs by my job.)

  • I believe education is ultimately the responsibility of the parent.
  • Teachers and schools should act as an extension of the home, and not the other way around.
  • Education is more than imparting knowledge, it is teaching children how to live life.
  • Education is more than academic, it is also physical, spiritual, moral, and should contain elements of self control, discipline, and the finality of truth. In fact, the academic part of education is a mere bonus.  The meat is in the how to live life part.
  • I believe the best education for my children is one that encompasses academic knowledge framed in Biblical beliefs.

I know this is a hard pill for some around me to swallow.  I’ve recieved criticism, hostility, and outright resistance against the choices made on my children’s educational futures.  I also feel that as much as it is a controversial subject, I need to make a stand about my choice, and not back down, no matter how many people in my life kick and scream about this decision.  I cannot apologize for a directive that is not mine.  Allen and I make decisions about our children’s futures based on the biggest authority we know, the Bible.  I know this is not a popular viewpoint, but there it is.

2 Timothy 3:16

“All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:”

Proverbs 22:6

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

I believe that all my children’s knowledge should be based on the most important knowledge of all, that of God and his word, and what he offers us. I cannot make other families choices for them, nor should I, but I reserve the right to choose for my family.

Joshua 24:15

“And if it seems evil to you to serve the LORD, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you live. But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”


About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

6 responses »

  1. YAY! Good post! I agree wholeheartedly! Make your choice, make it wisely, in the light of God’s Word. Then stand firmly in His armor, knowing you are doing His will!

  2. Just FYI, speaking of education and moms… I recently found out that A.C. Moore offers a teacher discount card (10% discount) for educators (including daycare workers and home-schooling mothers). You just have to fill out a paper and mail it in. I don’t currently work at a school, so I called the 800 number and explained I was looking for a discount for supplies to take to a Deaf school in Jamaica, and they mailed me the card on the spot with no certificate necessary. Feel free to share the info (www.acmoore.com is the website). Applications can be picked up at your local store or you can call 1-888-ACMOORE x143. You can also get a rewards card and for every 200 points (1 point per dollar, double points for purchases over $100) you get a $10 reward certificate.

Leave a Reply

