Bros before Hos, Chicks before… Wha?!

Standard

As life kicks back into high gear, with both of us working, and three kids in tow, Its been a struggle to keep “the flame lit” “the love alive” “the candle burning” “the romance going” and other corny euphemisms for a marriage relationship… and we are forced to find more creative ways to make time for each other.

Recently my car broke down, so we’ve been carpooling, which has become a lovely time to talk, as we both head over to pick up the kids together. We can spend that time joking, chatting, seriously and deeply talking, reminiscing, catching up or whatever floats our boats. Its been so nice, that I almost think it will continue even now that my car is on the road.  I’m enjoying it too much!

We’ve never been the type for a weekly date night.  Getting a babysitter for our brood is… um… tough.   1 know it all + 1 bona fide hellion + one sweet but needy baby = 3 kids altogether. Its no easy task to keep our kiddos in one piece. This calls for more creative measures.  Time snuck while kids are sleeping, time spent laughing in the car over stupid stuff:

Allen: THERE’S A COP!
Me: What?! Last time I checked it was NOT illegal to groove and dance in your car at redlights! And the day that that BECOMES illegal, is the day I LEAVE THIS COUNTRY!
Allen: Yeah. I know its not illegal. I just wanted you to know there was one, in case you were gonna run the redlight or something…
Me: Oh.

This was a nice moment, and is indicative of our car rides.  Overall, we have a good time, and it doesn’t make a total date, but we get what we can, where we can.

I just wish I had all the answers, and everything down pat in my marriage. I wish I knew how to juggle relationship, job, kids, all more effortlessly.  But, its not that simple.  So I guess there is a reason we made a vow for the rest of our lives… I think we’re gonna need it to figure out just how to be married perfectly.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

8 responses »

  1. I can completely relate to the lack of quality time as a couple! I have to say, we have tried to make a point of having some sort of ‘date-night’ at least a couple of times a month since having kids, and I have to say, I highly recommend it! I know that we are very lucky that we’ve also had reliable babysitters and grandparents who have given us this freedom. It’s a wonderful thing to simply get out of the house and have an adult meal and conversation every so often.

  2. I so hear this. We have three kids, too. And one of them can be umm…difficult…to handle. Finding babysitting for our crew isn’t exactly easy. We actually started going out after the baby is in bed, around 7:30. We figure if the other two stay up, at least the babysitter only has to manage the easy kid and the terror, and not the easy kid, the terror, AND the needy baby. More power to ya on your daily juggling act!

    • Hahaha! Thank you! SO glad I’m not alone!! I always wonder if my kids are so bad! I know other families who seem to get babysitting so quickly, but maybe I perceive it wrongly? The grass is always greener? Anywho! I am so glad we have family who subject themselves to my brood every so often so we can gain a little sanity!

  3. HAHAHA! love your description of your kids, it’s perfect!! if i only lived closer i would happily take your know-it-all, hellion, and needy but sweet one for a few hours to let you rock climb!

Leave a Reply

