Sucking Thumbs and Substance Abuse In Infants

Standard

So Ava has started a new habit!  One which NONE of my other children have mastered… especially this young.  I’m not sure I should be excited?  She’s a thumb sucker.

Emma greeted me when I came back from my run, by climbing all over me.  Nude with naught but a diaper, backpack, and snowboots, this was not a pleasant experience.  I shouted out my normal response to this kind of behavior: “Am I your mother or a jungle gym!”  She giggled and continued on in her work of crushing Mommy’s various joints. “Ow!” I cried.  “Oh lemme kiss it!” and she kissed it.  Another tender joint… “Ow!” again.  “Ohhh! I kiss it!”

C’mon kid, we can’t keep this up!  I can only take so many crushed joints!!  I’ll take all the kisses in the world!  Can we skip the climbing though? Please?

I was interupted from this pleasant pastime, by my husband.

“Hey check this out Liz!  There is a letter here for Ava!”

“Ok, what is it?”

“It says they’ve assigned her a counselor for her behavioral and substance abuse problems!”

“Really? For a THREE MONTH OLD?! Yeah, she cries when she’s not drinking, she drinks all the time!  Can’t live without drinking!  See!  Here she is! Drinking!”

Ava grunts, lets go of nursing, lets out a little wail, and goes back to her business.

“See?! She can’t even miss a SECOND of being attached to the stuff!”

Guess we oughta call the “Community of Care Center” and let them know their newest “behavioral and substance abuse case” is a three month old?  Some weird things happen in parenting…

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

One response »

  1. hahahahaha! substance abusing infant! that’s almost as good as the children’s health insurance info and formula coupons i (a single woman with no kids) keep getting in the mail!

Leave a Reply

