Work It! For Working Moms: Don’t Do It Alone! (Part 2)

Standard

Last week we talked about getting your kids in on the action, building responsibility for them and keeping your overwhelming list of duties in check.  This isn’t the only way to “not do it alone”  You can have other support too!  In fact, I would add it is integral to have adult support.  How many times have we, as working moms, been at work, and the daycare calls to say Susie is sick?  I’ve been on both ends of that call, and it is never an easy phone call.  The parent can’t take time off, for whatever reason, or they can, but it will take time to get to Susie, and the child is miserable meanwhile, just wanting Mommy or Daddy.

This is where we need more adult support (among other times) Its great to have a list of people who have agreed, in an emergency, to help out with childcare in a pinch.  Not everybody has this resource, in fact, my childcare list is extremely short.  My mom, and daycare.  So when either of them don’t work.  Its all me!   But if you DO have this resource, use it! You are very blessed if you have a list that contains more than three names.

Another way adult support is helpful?  Sanity!! I have some adult support in the way of sanity, in the form one of my closest friends.  She calls me on a regular basis to make sure the men in white coats haven’t dragged me away yet, and she schedules random dates where my husband steps to the plate and lets me regain some sanity.

The last bastion of adult support is: other Moms.  Get in touch with other working moms, and some stay at home moms.  I say this for many reasons;

1. Its good to know you are not alone.  Similar experiences and difficulties provide a great shoulder to cry on, and an awesome reality check if you need it.

2. Its good to know you’ve got other options, stay at home moms are a good way to remind you of other things you wouldn’t think of or do, because you are in a different situation.  Its also good networking.  I am good friends with a stay at home mom, who runs DIYparenting and she has been such a wealth of information.  Not to mention a very good friend.

3. It gets you out of yourself.  Knowing other moms, helping other moms, keeps you from feeling isolated and alone in the world of parenting.  I know I had alot of non mother friends who didn’t understand my special commitment to my children.  It is good to have someone who does understand when you can’t drop everything to go to the movies in 30 minutes.  And who doesn’t mind when you call her to cry about how much you WANTED to drop everything to go to the movies in 30 minutes.

Lastly, and most importantly, keep in touch with your family, you never know what kind of support they can and will provide, from the material support to the emotional and spiritual kind.  My family has always been an amazing support to me.  Support is so important!  Get yourself a net!

The Recipe:

Anything Casserole

This casserole is great!  You can use chicken or pork, whatever vegetables you have on hand, and make noodles or rice as a side.  I always keep the ingredients on hand for when I need something quick and easy.  Not to mention, Cream of Mushroom soup can yield many good things in a pinch!  This is not the healthiest, so I try not to fall on it too often. full disclosure: I adapted it from a campbells soup recipe.

ingredients:

1 Can Cream of Mushroom soup

1 can of milk

shredded cheese (anywhere from 1/2 cup to 1 cup)

1 or 2 chicken breasts (or pork chops)

frozen veggies.  About a bags worth.  Feel free to mix and match.  I like broccoli personally, but a mixed veggies bag is tasty too.

Directions:

Using your kitchen shears (this makes this alot quicker) cut the meat into bite size pieces.  Put in a casserole dish.  Dump in your choice of veggies.  Dump in soup, milk, and cheese.  Mix it all around till its all coated.  Pop in oven at 375 degrees.  Bake for about 35 minutes, or until top is golden and bubbling.

I like to serve this with egg noodles, and a side of green beans.  Easy, and quick!

 

 

 

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

