Let’s Save That!

Standard

 

Before you start reading Today’s post, feel free to check out my first post as a DIYparenting writer!   Enjoy!

 

Is it possible we take parenting too seriously?

I know this is a slightly, nay, definitely crazy statement. I just think that sometimes we glorify what isn’t necessarily glorious. Take for instance, a penchant for saving everything. Yes, I saved the first outfit home from the hospital, their little hospital bracelets, and their pink caps and hospital blanket.  But I did not save the first soiled diaper. I didn’t take a picture of the first potty training experience. I didn’t save the first dirty tissue, and I didn’t save EVERY picture they’ve ever colored (my house would be a huge stack of papers and gross items.)  That seems extreme, doesn’t it?

Dare I say this?  Parenting is kind of mundane. It involves all sorts of disgusting discoveries, frustrating moments, and ordinary days. There are hardly any shining moments in the whole bunch, aside from a few knee slappers now and then. Take the quarters quote from yesterday, republished for the sake of non facebook friends:

Sarah: (Suspiciously) Mom, are there onions in this?
Me: No! There are not! Stop worrying and complaining.
Sarah: I don’t like onions, Mom.
Me: If you find an onion, I’ll give you a quarter!
Sarah: WHY would you give me a quarter? I can’t even BUY anything with THAT!

And then there are those few and far between lightbulb moments, where an older sibling kisses the baby, or tries to teach them something precious (I once witnessed Sarah trying to teach a wide-eyed Ava how to dance, Ava, freshly awoken from her nap, with Sarah dancing next to the crib, giving a play by play… “First you point your toe… thats called a tendu.”) I’ve also witnessed some beautiful moments where Emma has sung lullabies to Ava.

Then there are my favorite moments, where you get through to them, and you know a life lesson has been learned. Whether it will stay for life, I won’t know till 20-30 years from now.

But lets face it. We can’t save their childhood, nor should we. Whom among us wants our parents to think of us perpetually as children? I don’t. I want to be recognized as an accomplished adult who can make my own decisions. I did save my hospital outfit though.  So I can think back to when I WAS cute!

Now if you’ll excuse me, Ava has just made her first booger, and I gotta go shrink wrap that puppy…

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

6 responses »

  1. Haha! I have a friend or two that are baby-item hoarders. EVERYTHING gets saved, boxed, and labeled to the point where they need an extra couple bedrooms just for Totally Useless And Kind Of Creepy Boxes Of Baby Hair and Teething Rings. Seriously, some mamas can go overboard in preserving precious memories!
    Congrats on your 1st DIY post!

  2. Wow! And to think, I was mad when that cleaning lady (the one who came for 6 weeks after I had surgery) threw away all of the baby teeth… 4 little paper cups in a row on top of the piano, with little baby teeth… Gone forever… Thank you cleaning lady, you released me from that terrible plague… Hoarding useless baby junk!

Leave a Reply

