Being Pecked To Death By Chickens… It Ain’t Pretty!

Standard

Ever heard the maxim:

“Parenting is like being pecked to death by chickens, slowly!”

Well its true! Yesterday was one of THOSE days.  You Moms all know what I mean.  The day that your children wake up, agree to conspire to ruin your life and HAVE AT IT!    Mine certainly did.  And I felt like the meanest Mom ever.  All day.

Thinking further on it.  I kinda realized it was because I told myself I was the meanest Mom ever.  No-No number 1.

Number 2? I wasn’t entirely consistent.  I really need to kick that up a notch.

Number 3?  Our routine was changed.  We havn’t had a routine for almost a week now (I’m not so good at that.) and they didn’t nap.  That really added to the stress.

Number 4?  This one is all them:  They knew better, and they didn’t care.

Lessons learned?  3-Mom       1-Kids.

Lets hope this makes for a better tomorrow.  I think we’re all exhausted.  Some days just seem like a fight from start to finish.  Its been one of those WEEKS.

Tomorrow will be better.  I know it.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

4 responses »

  1. Well, stick to your guns mean mom. One day (sadly enough it’s probably not in the near future) your kids will thank you. Then they will go on to be mean Moms following your example. Think of our mean parents… “DOES YOUR HEAD RATTLE?” “Because ham sandwich was already taken!” “An excuse is the skin of a reason stuffed with a lie!” “Do wild bears pee in the forest?” “Did my lips stutter, or did your ears flutter?” How many of those sayings we hated do we now repeat?

  2. LOL you guys are cracking me up! I really like the comment above, “Does your head rattle?” I’ll be using that one. My favorite was “you’re cruisin for a bruisin and achin for a breakin” or “you and me are about to go round and round.” that one scared me the most as a kid. Anyway, chin up! Tomorrow’s another day. You can surprise your kids tomorrow just as much as they surprised you today…by changing it up!

Leave a Reply

