A Post About Learning Lessons- The Hard Way

Standard

It is gonna be a busy day for the Sacks household… So I won’t linger.

Last night we were at a gathering of friends, and there was chinese food, cookies, cakes, etc.  Miss Sarah, not to miss a chance to score a big coup, ate a little chicken and passed over all vegetables, noodles and rice.

But she hit them cookies HARD.

We got home, midnight, children were asleep, placed into beds gently and quietly, and everyone slept on.  At 4 am, nobody was sleeping.  Sarah hobbled on into our bedroom, “Mom, my tummy hurts from all that sugar, I didn’t make healthy choices…” And she promptly threw up. There was about a half hour of frantic cleaning.  Before she came into us she had deposited large amounts of pink icing all over her bed.  Walking down the hall to her bedroom was terrible.  I called Allen for help.

“Allen! Help! I just can’t do this alone, I don’t want to make a mess either.”

“Liz this is what marriage is for! Did you think I could keep sleeping and let you clean this up by yourself?”

I tell ya what, those are the moments that make you fall in love with your husband a little more every time. Roses are nice, chocolate is tasty, but doing dishes, vomit, diapers, vacuuming, its the sexiest thing a man could do!  Not to mention, so much more romantic!   So, there we were, laughing over vomit together, cracking jokes as we cleaned it up.  Those few moments with him, working as a team, did more for us than any planned date could.  There is something to be said for facing a crises together.

I love being married to my Man.  I think we learned more last night than Sarah did.  Although she woke up this morning, chipper as ever “Mom!  I’m making healthy choices today! My tummy hurt from all that SUGAR!”  Learning lessons the hard way.  Wonder if it stuck?

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

  1. If the words “pink icing” weren’t included in the puke story, I might have thrown up just thinking about it. The pinkness just makes it smell better in my mind.

Leave a Reply

