Mom Radar: It Exists!

Standard

And I’m not talkin’ about Mom’s having radar.  I’m talking about how children ALWAYS seem to know when I particularly wish to accomplish or experience something, and right then, right there, is when a crises occurs.  They have Mom radar.  It is constantly monitoring my state of relaxation, AND my position within the house.  When the moment strikes, they are notified, and they rise to the occasion to rectify the serious injustice, (and universal imbalance) of a Mom who has had one second too many to do something by herself or for herself.

It happens often, where the children are sleeping, down for their nap, and I go to eat a snack.  I pick up said snack, move to place it in my mouth, and JUST THEN, as I am about to go to chocolate heaven and be released from insanity that only motherhood can provide… Someone yelps!

I stop.

Quiet.

I peek into the room in which they are napping, everyone is breathing quietly, eyes closed.  Hmmm, wonder what that was?  oh well, I’m not wasting my time!  Lift chocolate to mouth…

“WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!”

What the hey?!

I look into the living room again to see the baby, Ava, looking slightly disgruntled and very awake.   Why is it that TODAY when EVERYONE is sleeping, she chooses to ONLY take a 1/2 hour nap?  *sigh*  shove chocolate into mouth, have a 30 second zen moment, and go rescue baby.  Can’t enjoy it fully today, maybe tomorrow! HA!  No such luck…

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

  1. I am with you on that. You can have the children so occupied with something they like to do or they could all be asleep, and they still seem to know the opportune moment when your about to start enjoying having a moment all to yourself or enjoy time with someone else and then BAM! Out of left field the cavalry strikes, the troops rush in with guns firing at will relentlessly, just to knock you back down to reality. It makes you wonder if there is kid radar scrambler or a radar jammer to uses against them.

    • So true. So True. It is relentless indeed! I might add, do you think maybe people OTHER than kids might have radar too? There might be special radar for different people you work with, or live with, or are related to, or just know. It MUST be subconscious.

Leave a Reply

