The Great Weight Debate

Standard

I wonder if I am the only mother who looks at my thunder thighs in the mirror and wishes they will go back to pre-child days.  I know I’m not.  Yet I feel rather alone in the bathroom with no company except my cellulite.

I know we have this never ending airbrushed image of perfection portrayed in the media blah blah.   That it tears us real women down blah blah blah.  That society is sexualized blah blah blah.  All that rot.  But I don’t feel the need to compare to that pretend perfection on the TV.  I don’t have cable.  I don’t need to see my husband’s issue of Sports Illustrated and feel disgusted with myself.  We’re too cheap for magazines.  All I see are the pictures of my young pre-baby self, and I’m immediately hanging my head in shame!

I don’t think its fair to blame it on the fashion industry, the entertainment world, or Hugh Hefner.  We are human!  We wish to be young!  Men’s eyes are drawn aside by young pretty women (hopefully only momentarily, and then they snap back to Dorothy over here toting all 4 kids with her hair all crazy, her shirt all crooked, with number 5 strapped to her front and her nonexistent makeup, and say proudly: “Thats my wife, who had my children, supports and loves me in practically all I do, and is an amazing woman to boot, and I’m the lucky man to have her to myself.”)

I think we just miss who we were when we were young and beautiful, and childbirth hadn’t ravaged our bodies.

So, I’m motivated enough to try and change my ways, eat healthier, be healthier, run and train.  But I’m also realistic.  I know I won’t look like I did when I was 18.  Aren’t we all too hard on ourselves ladies?  Yeah, we might need to take care of our bodies, yeah we need to be healthy women, yeah it might improve our appearance, but why on earth do we pine for something we can’t have again?

Because we’re human.

So go, get healthy.  Be healthy, take care of your body.  But bear those stretchmarks, those wider hips, as scars of battle.  Be proud of what you’ve done, bringing children into the world. Thats a tough thing to do!  Know that your husband values you.  For all of his ideas of me losing weight, one thing my husband has always said is “I love you because you’re who you are, not because of how you look.  I want you to be healthy, not plastic.”

So lets not pine over that, shall we?  Lets be proud we’re Moms, and add to that a sense of accomplishment to have the strength to work towards being healthy and taking care of ourselves on top of everything we already do, even when we’re ready to drop dead just from being a Mom.

I for one am not going to let an unfulfillable wish to look 17 and perky again destroy my pride in having the guts to take charge of my health as I’ve never done before.  Youth is overrated, and maturity undervalued.

I’m kicking butt and taking names, with 3 kids (under 5)  in tow.  I dare the local homecoming queen to top THAT in guts and glory!  Booyah!


About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

4 responses »

  1. I am so proud of you taking the first steps to a healthier body. You said you were going to do it and now you’re doing it. There are a lot of moms out there who complain about their appearance and their weight and blame it on having babies…when their youngest “baby” is five years old. Then there are the moms who have four kids and immediately do their best to live a healthier life so that they can be around to watch their kids grow and have kids of their own. I admire you for being the latter.

    • Thanks Abbe! I was telling Allen the other day how glad I am for things like facebook and dailymile (thanks for tipping me off to dailymile btw) because I have 390 reasons why to keep running. That many people see my profile daily, and every time I don’t want to run, I imagine at least 10 people going. “see! I knew THAT wouldn’t last!” Keeps me going!! haha!

  2. You go, girl! I can totally relate to this! I have five children, three are under the age of five. Like you I am trying my best to live a healthy life. I know I will never have the same body I had before I had my children, but I agree we need to accept our bodies knowing that our husbands still love us for who we are and be proud that we are mothers. Great article!

Leave a Reply

