The GREAT Toy Battle, AND a Photographic Revisiting of Superbowl Sunday!!

Standard

Toys are EVERYWHERE in my house.  It is a losing battle!  Here is a picture of my day:

I wake up, to find a Dora figurine under me.  Oh, thats why I slept so oddly!

Step out of bed to get Ava, tripping over toys on the way to her bedroom.  How did Dora get on my floor in the middle of the night?  Oh well…

Get Ava out of bed to nurse her.  Sit on the recliner in her room, to find a toy train stuffed in the side.  How did that get there?  Oh well.

I hear Sarah and Emma wake up, they find me, arms full of toys, stuffed animals, figurines, tea cups etc.

We go to get breakfast.  I grab dishes out of the cabinet, only to find toy food in my plastics drawer.  Guess I’d better fish that out later…

They play all morning.  My living room is swathed in lines and lines of beanie babies, piles of dress up dresses and my old high heels, a coffee table covered in plastic food and play dishes.  Figurines and my little ponies in a pile next to the dollhouse.

I make lunch, everybody falls asleep.  So I do the dishes, to find toy dishes have been thrown in the REAL sink and vice versa.  Why on earth?

I sit down on my recliner to snuggle Ava while they sleep, only to hear some toy faintly singing a digital song.  Where is that?  Up my rear?  Oh yeah.  Better get up and see what else I can fish out of here… Ooh! a watercolor paintbrush, fake nailpolish, a superman figurine, 3 broken crayons some legos, and what?!  Hey those are MY earrings!  How did they get there?  I put them in the jewelry box just last Sunday! Should I even be asking that? No.

They wake up to inundate my kitchen table with crayons and coloring books while I am audio-assaulted by Laurie Berkner and ‘Victor Vito’ and I make supper.  I turn around to realize that somewhere, somehow, a marker was stashed, and Emma has now covered herself in teal ink.  Well! Bathtime will be extra fun!  Everyone loves blue water!

Dinner.  Someone brings a backpack full of legos to the dinner table.

Somebody insists on bringing their toy watch into the bath.  I say no.  Can anyone say: Meltdown?

Bedtime!!  Oh how Glorious!

I lay in bed, to nurse Ava, only to find…. a rattle under my pillow cuddling up to Minnie Mouse.  Hmm.

So now for the Super Bowl Sunday sledding pictures!

Remember This?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, Happy Valentines Day Folks!  Spread the Love!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

5 responses »

  1. our sledding days are gone, it is 70 degrees outside :). Looks so much fun though

    I hear you. Every room in this house slowly became a toy room no matter how much I struggle to turn it back to living room (office, kitchen, etc)

    Thanks for the mousse recipe!

  2. Really funny post. In my case it was always action figures and hot wheels. Neither one of these things are fun to step on in the middle of the night, or the wee hours of the morning; I just had to learn to wear shoes at all times. And how about when they start making their own food and you find the cereal in the fridge and the milk in the cabinet next to your salt and pepper. Or a sugar bowl on the floor with a spoon in it. Good times!

Leave a Reply

