The Mom Marathon- Weigh In

Standard

The more I consider, research, and commit to training for a marathon, the more I think I can learn some very valuable life lessons.   I tend to be a both feet first, all gas no brakes, constipation of the brain, diarrhea of the mouth kinda gal.  I do everything spur of the moment, all or nothing.  This is exactly the opposite of my kneejerk passion.

I am looking forward to learning about commitment, settling in for the long haul, and the value of endurance.   Mostly because for all my all or nothing kind of fire has gotten me into a TON of scrapes.  It was a good quality, from time to time, but kind of hit or miss.  And who doesn’t benefit from tempering enthusiasm with wisdom?  Here goes nothing then!  Lets hope a marathon makes me a wiser person.

On the other hand, as a mother, I wonder if I am cheating my children for my ambition.  They will need to be babysat, can’t come on every run.  But am I also teaching them something?  That you’re never too old to learn?  That sticking to your commitment no matter how difficult, is VERY important?  That helping others is essential to living life correctly?  That giving up because its “too hard” is NEVER an option?  Or are they too young to pick up these lessons?

Feel free to weigh in folks.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

5 responses »

  1. You are doing an amazing thing. You’re going to get in shape, feel better about yourself, meet some crazy awesome people that are doing the same thing as you, and raise money to support Leukemia and Lymphoma patients. That’s pretty awesome in my book.

  2. Good for you!

    We moms need to take care of ourselves not only physically but emotionally and spiritually as well. Modeling these good behaviors is so positive for our children! Plus we just can’t adequately take care of everyone when we’re lacking in any of those areas.

  3. Thanks guys! I’d like to keep this up, and make a regular thing of it, so that when they are older, they will enjoy and value it too! I’m also hoping it helps my overall health, so that I can continue to do this for many many years!

Leave a Reply

