On The Subject Of Stomach Bugs

Standard

There is nothing that makes a Mom feel worse than an inability to make her child feel better.  With colds, fevers, earaches, there is always a medicine that can relieve pain, increase comfort, I can snuggle, hug, and take care of my little ones.  With stomach bugs, all I can do is sit there, and clean up when its all said and done.  For this reason, I REALLY dislike stomach bugs.   Sarah is pretty self sufficient and will tell me when she’s not feeling well.  She will be careful to wash her hands after each incident, and to keep things contained.  Emma is a whole ‘nother story.

Last night, just as I was dozing off, at 12 am, Emma came into my bedroom.  This is fairly normal. She snuggled up to me, and for once, I didn’t send her back to her room, I thought “It won’t kill anybody if she snuggles for 5 minutes!”  Boy am I glad I did!  Within 10 minutes we were in the shower, and laundry was gathered to go downstairs.   The poor dear and I were up until 6:30 am this morning fighting off this nasty bug.  Its times like these where motherhood isn’t fun or funny, its just grueling.  So today, we are wrapped up in covers, within arms reach of the pedialyte, watching movies (The Little Mermaid is first on the list) with little Miss Ava sleeping nearby, and Sarah feeding her face with PB and crackers.  Its gonna be a lazy day, but a good day, since Emma is keeping down pedialyte now!   Well, night folks, I’m heading off for another good doze now that Emma and Ava are OUT.  Sarah and Daddy can hang out a bit while we recharge!

Now, lets cross fingers Ava doesn’t get this!!!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

