The Miracle On Kennedy Street

Standard

Yes.  Yesterday the impossible was possible.  All 3 children took a nap simultaneously.   Allen and I were thrilled, especially since this happened early enough so as not to disrupt bedtime, and late enough that he was already awake, and able to enjoy it.  This is the first time, aside from a weekend, where we have had time together while they are all sleeping.  I know that doesn’t sound all that earth shattering, but it was to us!  We rarely get time together alone, even on the weekends when he’s home at night, and to have that on a weekday was even more amazing!  We are also usually so tired when they are sleeping, that we take advantage and sleep too.

Not so yesterday!

We enjoyed some talking time, just us two.  Time to communicate WITHOUT screaming, hollering, hair pulling, wrestling matches, whining, or getting into something they shouldn’t.

I enjoyed my first uninterrupted and alone run.  When I take the kids for a walk it limits where I can go, how far I can go, and what pace I can set for how long.  So this was pretty monumental.  I started my first marathon training session, and I’m pumped to do more.  I was accompanied by Kaitey, via the telephone (Thank God for mobile phones!!  Anyone who knows me, knows I can’t do anything if there isn’t socializing attached!) Kaitey and I had a lovely conversation.  Its so nice to hear somebody else is having experiences similar to mine.  We had a little chuckle over what great friends we have in Schmo and Brooke respectively (and I quote: “Y’know the kind of friend you have where you can have fun doing ANYTHING?  Brooke and I could have fun poking our eyes out with a knife.  She’s that awesome!”  “Yeah, Schmo and I are like that too!  We could have fun with anything!” )

It is also nice to receive material motivation via friends.  I thrive on social support.  And I got it last night in spades from many friends, but Kaitey got the jump on ya’ll and was cheering me on as I was running.  Thanks Kaitey!    And thank you to everyone else!  I will be posting my athletic exploits on facebook.  Motherhood, as usual, makes EVERYTHING all the more interesting, so I’m sure I will have some interesting posts on training.  Like maybe:  Took the kids in their stroller, my time was extended a whole 30 minutes for potty stops and crises. woohoo. Emma dropped her Dora a mile back, and never noticed it, so I got a whole extra mile in! yay!

Wish me luck folks!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

