Thank God I Hit The Tree!

Standard

Yes I did really hit a tree.  It was quite an adventure!  As I skid along on melting ice, careening towards the cold cold water of the deep creek at Brooke’s, I slid to the side, dug in for the crash and:

BOOM!

I hit a tree.

Brooke was so startled, she couldn’t breathe.

She couldn’t breathe for laughing!!!  Then her Mom popped the window sash up and started snapping pictures.

Took me awhile to get off my sled, really.  Mostly because I was laughing too hard to get up, and had landed with my legs on either side of the tree! Almost like straddling a horse.  It was so funny, we sat there and laughed for almost 10 minutes!  I waved and smiled while Donna snapped memories that will NEVER be forgotten!   Once the picture makes its way onto the internet, it will be proudly published for sure!  Took us a long time to walk back up the hill again, and we slipped and fell a couple times on the way back up.  What an adventure!  I don’t think I’ve laughed that much in a long time!   I love hanging with Brooke, she keeps me young, and keeps me from getting too complacent.  All in all we had such a fun time taking a few runs down the hill (a few for Brooke, one was enough for me!  My heart was in my throat the whole time!!)

After this adventure we sat down to a delicious supper of spaghetti and salad, where my kids did me proud and ate their food politely, and there was a surprising lack of mess!  I was so proud of them both, they behaved so well!  We finished it all off with pineapple upside down cake (DELICIOUS Brooke!) Then settled in for chatting and the Super Bowl.  Sarah and Toby had a grand time playing Princess, King, and Castle, and eventually everyone else got in on the fun too!  (It’s great to be royalty, what can I say?)

We finished the night off with tea, hot chocolate, cheese, and crackers (the food at the Grater’s is always phenomenal!) and Emma stripped down only once, (blink and you miss it, because I caught her in the act.) Then everybody hopped into pajamas while the Super Bowl finished up, and we all slipped and slid out to the car, driving safely home to warm beds, and comfortable pillows!

 

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

