MOM!!!! There Is A Dinosaur In Chastity’s Window!!!

Standard

I am beginning to enjoy the perks that only insanity can provide.  I enjoyed a little respite this morning just as the morning was becoming tedious.   We have a grumpy Ava, and me feeling kind of weather beaten.  (Literally… anyone with arthritis knows my pain.) we’ve also enjoyed yelling, screaming, and begging for videos.  It hardly helps that the outdoors is so inhospitable, and last night we had the great toy harvest, in which the girls refused to clean up their toys (third day in a row.) So, Dad cleaned them up; with a trash bag.  This was MEANT to be suggestive, but didn’t really mean what they thought it meant.  This morning, they discovered them hidden in our room, which was a great relief to both Emma AND Sarah.  However, all the favorites are out of commission, and rather than find new favorites from the pile in the toyroom (and trust me, we could play with an ARMY, and everybody would have TWO toys!) we are still mourning the temporary loss of last nights toys!  My children had finally settled with coloring books for all of 5 minutes.   I had enjoyed all the peace I expected today, in 5 minutes total, and the insanity was about to resume!   At this crucial juncture, my neighbor came to my rescue in a rather unique way! Chastity placed a Dinosaur in her kitchen window, as a joke.  We discussed this on facebook, with many LOL’s and HAHAHA’s, and I put it into Sarah’s head to watch it closely.  Chastity moved the dinosaur to intrigue her, and the gasps and updates in the surprised little voice from the kitchen were rather enjoyable!

“Mom! Its moving!!”

“Mom! the pretend Dinosaur is looking at me!”

“Mom! Its a little Dinosaur!  You come watch it!”

Thanks to an awesome neighbor, my morning was saved!!  Chastity, you are more awesome than you know!!  Its those unexpected moments of sheer enjoyment where the insanity of parenthood is totally worth it!  It also reminded me of the enjoyment I can have with my kids if I just put aside the hairpulling frustration, and enjoy their own unique thoughts, ideas, and ways of playing.  Its time for Mama to lighten up and enjoy life!  As much as I need affirmation and encouragement, they need understanding and approachability.  Time for Mom to loosen up, and have a great time just being silly!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

