Losing It!

Standard

No, I am not referring to my mind, that was lost LONG ago… I am referring to my virginity.   I am a pig stomach virgin.   I have never had pig stomach before, in fact I will admit to habitually avoiding it, simply because my lack of a PA dutch palatte has been a bit of an impediment in convincing me to try it.  But today of all days, today is the day I will try pig stomach!   My friends, the Mecks, have been eating this dutch delicacy year after year, and they are still here, and some of the most openhearted, caring people I know!  Funny as all get out, too!  Its always a good time at the Meck house, so I’ve decided, if the Mecks like it,  I can try it!  I am throwing caution to the wind, and I may try a little liquid courage, and then go for the pig stomach!   Wish me luck folks!  I am all fired up about the good company, great friends, and delicious food I always find at Bruce and Jane’s house!  So here’s to friends, laughter, and a grand time!

I’m also excited to get to catch up with my friends Abbe and Van at the Mecks, Van has a blog: http://furiousball.com/inmydiatribe/ and has been a huge help in starting mine!  I don’t usually get to visit with them often, since they reside in the fair state of New Jersey, but today I will get to visit with them!   I will also get to nosh with Rachel C, and her baby Mia whilst we do the mommy rock.   (Every mother acquires this, and it never leaves her, its an innate thing, that when you hold a child you sway automatically…)

My only hindrance to all the glory of a Meckfest, is that my car is on the fritz.  Yesterday was but a harbinger of doom, a prophecy of things to come.  A reminder that my car SUCKS.  Allen is off being my knight in shining armor, at this very moment, tinkering away in the hopes of bringing about actual function to that car.     Until then, I will be cleaning frantically, since my house has now reached heights of mayhem and destruction that are heretofore, unimaginable.

All in all, this will be a good day!  I know it will ensue in lots of good stories, and great fun!  I can’t contain my excitement!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

  1. I hope it was all you dreamed it would be… I realized last night that the meal itself is really nothing fancy or terribly exciting. It’s just become a reason for the family to get together for no reason at all…

  2. Considering that winter blues period when nobody has nothing to do, due to the lack of holidays, I admire the making of ones own holiday! Everybody loves a good non-reason to get together! It was pretty awesome! 🙂 The meal wasn’t the biggest reason I came anyway, and was surprisingly tasty and the company certainly did not disappoint!

Leave a Reply

