Snow Snow EVERYWHERE!!

Standard

Last night, the snow was beautiful.  This morning.  It was nasty.   Sarah was THRILLED it was snowing, she always is!  When its a few inches…  We went out to begin shoveling, and bundled the kids up to come along and play.  As they’re playing, Sarah heads to the back porch.  She yelled “Mom!  I’m back heeeerrrreeeee!”

Yeah.. and? I kept shoveling, and doing my thing.  I heard crying,

“MOM!!!!! MOM!!  I’M BACK HEEERRREEEE!”

Ye Gods what has happened now?  I head to the back porch to find her sitting on the snow covered couch, (yes. we have a couch on the back porch, but thats fodder for another post…  I DO have a little of the redneck in me…)  sobbing, WITH HER BOOTS AND GLOVES OFF!  What the heck?!  I asked her what was wrong?

“I took my boots off, and my feet are WEEEETTTTTTTTTT!!! WAAAAAHHH!”

Now, at four, I would think that it may be a logical decision to keep your snow boots on?  At any age, really.  I put her boots back on, as she wailed to go back inside, so I promptly sent her back in to snuggle under blankets.  Allen traipsed back in with the girls while I continued to shovel with my neighbor.  (Who kindly helped me dislodge my car, thanks Chris!) about a half hour later, Sarah comes back out.

“Mom!  I want to try again!”

Thats my kid!!  Trying again!  It’s a little difficult snow shoveling, whilst she’s playing in it, chucking it all over, but overall, I’m proud she didn’t let one incident ruin snow forever …wait a minute, she’s making up a song about how nasty the snow is!!!  I wish I could remember the exact lyrics for you all, but, alas, I can’t.  It went something like “nasty snow don’t come back again, don’t you get in our boots.  We don’t like when you come snow, so don’t come back… etc. etc.”

I’ll take what I can get with this teachable moment… I’ll think of it this way, at least she’s learning how to make music!

Another Sarah moment of note:

Sarah: Holds Barbie up “I don’t have any money? What do I do?”

Me: “Get a job.”

Sarah “No! My Dad says I DON’T WORK! This is my friend Donna, (holds up purple beanie baby) she gives everybody money! now we all have MONEY!”

Great. I wish I was friends with Donna…

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

