Lateness Becomes Me? And Brooke Sniffs An Onion!

Standard

I write my post a little late today, but then many things have been late lately.  I’m just not feeling very motivational.  Yesterday was busy as all get out, and well worth it!  We spent our morning with Rachel K. and kids at Chick Fil A’s playland (McD’s was outdoors.  ugh.) Our children ran amuck while we chatted about grown up things and enjoyed adult company.  I know I’ve said this before, but it is so encouraging to know other women are experiencing what I experience in motherhood.  Its nice to sit with another mother and know, I’m not alone!  It was a rousing success, since my children fell asleep on the way home, after devouring some chicken nuggets from the best chicken place ever!

Upon getting home, I left the children to nap with Allen and sped up to the daycare.  The more I experience of motherhood with 3, life with 3, and energy levels with 3 kids, the more I think a full time job just isn’t in the cards!  Thankfully, my employer is flexible, and willing to work with me, and we had a wonderful chat sorting it all out.  I am very thankful to have such a family friendly employer! I got to visit my coworkers downstairs in my classroom, and enjoy the oohs and aahs over Ava.  Every mother enjoys fussing over, and watching others fuss over our baby.  Maybe she’s not so exceptional as I think, but I’d like to think she is!  I am partial after all, so I think she’s the cutest baby around!  Its nice to have others smile and giggle at her too.  I know, I’m shameless!  But there it is!  Motherhood is shameless in its promotion.  What can I say?

Brooke came over, Thankfully we had chosen Tuesday over Wednesday before this nasty snow was forecasted, so it all worked out for a weekly dose of Anti-Insanity time with Brooke!  The girls were full, and happy after Allen cooked supper (I love my husband!) He also put the girls to bed for us.  🙂

We finished the movie Emma, alternately tearing up, uttering “awww!” and swooning over Mr Knightley! Jane Austen, the original rom-com was there to supply a much needed bit of grown up introspection.  During the movie, many Brooke/Liz adventures ensued.  We spilled a bowl of popcorn, and made another, drank tea like all get out, and contemplated cold remedies for Brooke. We settled on a modified onion pack, so I chopped up an onion for her to breathe in.  It did its work on poor Brooke in no time!  She cried more than I did the whole movie!   All in all, the second half redeemed this adaptation of Emma, and it is growing on me!  It was very sweet and endearing.  Brooke and I finished off the night chatting.  This is where the real fun began.  We attempted to solve a real life mystery only to be thwarted by incomplete information, but had fun being Columbo and Monk, respectively.  A stinkbug scared the poop outta me, which scared the poop outta Brooke, who thought someone broke into the house!  We spent the next ten minutes looking over both our shoulders, for various reasons.  All in all, print cannot convey how much fun we had,  it was one of those evenings that unless you were there, it doesn’t hold the same weight.  Either way, we had a grand time, and this will go down in Liz and Brooke anecdotes as a biggie!

Now I shall enjoy the remainder of the day staring at the overwhelming pile of dishes I am doing ANYTHING to avoid…

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

