The Ogre Has Arrived And Betty Crocker Is Goin’ DOWN!

Standard

Not all days are good days.  Not every day are you the Betty Crocker, smelling like baked goods and wearing lipstick , a skirt, and pearls, bedecked in oven mitts in a sunny kitchen pulling delicious things from the oven.  Not every day is the day you’d like your child to remember as their childhood.  Yesterday I was the Ogre Mom, with beady red eyes, crazy hair, stomping around in my pajama pants meting out vegetables with a fury unmatched.  I’d like to say I’m Betty Crocker and sunshine all the time, but to be sincere, I’m not.  No mother ever is.  We just have bad days.  Days we regret before they’re even snoring away after we’ve put them to bed with a HUGE sigh of relief.   Often times, Ogre Mom comes out when she’s experiencing the chicken children.  As Bill Cosby says, parenthood is very similar to being pecked to death by chickens.   I was pecked into a frenzy yesterday.  In times like those, when a Mother turns Ogre, sometimes what we need most is to be told we’re really not an ogre at all, and that whether or not we’re Betty Crocker, we’re a good Mom just as we are, mistakes and all.  Moms need encouragement too.  We clean up after, dress, bathe, change, encourage, teach, talk, play, feed, clothe, and support everyone, and sometimes we need a little kickback ourselves.  Sometimes we need to be told “for all your faults and troubles, I still love you”  like we tell our children every day.    Moms need to learn from teachable moments too.   Thank God for tomorrows, when we can face a new day with our own confidence.  (Betty ain’t got nothin’ on us ladies!) We can face a new day with that confidence built from our own failures, and successes.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

6 responses »

    • Good idea. Maybe while I’m out today, I’ll pick one up!! haha! I can see it now, haggard looking woman drags two kids and a baby into a liqueur store… sounds like a punchline waiting to happen!

  1. Liz, for all your faults and troubles, I still love you. And I lauged at the box o’ wine comment and checked to see who posted it. I should’ve known.

  2. 2 words…AMEN SISTER! Man did you hit that right on the head! Somedays we are the ones who need the encouragement and the extra love. Most days the “daddys” don’t realize it’s part of their job, and sometimes I think mommys forget to do it for daddys too (although I’m not sure it means as much to them as it does us). Either way, you are an incrediblt mother and wife. Your children love you even on your Orge days, and no matter if you turn into an orge today you will go back to being supermom tomorrow. Sometimes even “super”s need a break.

  3. So very, very true. I had an Ogre mom day yesterday. 60 minutes of nonstop screaming and kicking will do that to you. I, of course, felt horrible after Ogre mom left. But the same culprit who gave me the hour-long battle gave the best snuggles every afterwards. Thank God they forgive us the way we forgive them. And for women like you who admit to this, reminding me that I’m not the only mom on the planet that sometimes just can’t. take. anymore. Until there are hugs. Then it’s all good again.

Leave a Reply

