Stinkbugs ATTACK! And The Mighty Snow Adventure!

Standard

This is a great day to be lazy.

As I write this post I am hearing Emma scold a dead stinkbug for being in our house.  “Go AWAY stinkbug! GO AWAY!! YOU DON’T TALK WIKE DAT STINKBUG!  GO AWAY! I told you, I said, GO AWAY!  Mommy?!  can you pwease kill da stinkbug?  Pwease kill our stinkbug!”  What she doesn’t know is I already did. 🙂  After five minutes of the stinkbug not “following the rules” Emma began to scream and ran into me.  “Mommy I don’t want the stinkbug!  EWWWWWWWW!”

Last night with Joe and Jenny and kids was really a much needed night out.  To talk to other parents and be reaffirmed that we are not alone in the way we raise our children was nice.  I know everybody approaches parenthood differently, but I am glad that it doesn’t mean we are alone either.  To hear people experience what we do, that my child is perfectly normal in comparison to another child her age, to know that somebody else is encouraging me to be committed to children and family first, its a wonderful thing!   I am so glad we are not alone!  It was so encouraging just to talk to them. Not to mention, dinner was AWESOME!  I really need to steal Jenny’s pizza dough recipe!   Also, I am immensely proud of myself for making it through the slightly drifted roads to and from their house.  The roads were pretty good with some touchy spots.  But, I navigated them with ease and panache!  Hail the mighty snow adventure!  And, just in case, I wore my new snowboots the WHOLE time I was driving!  Forgot the dig-out shovel though!

In other news I am not a broken armed gimp, just an overused arm gimp.  A combination of a few factors led to a cortisone shot, a splint, and a wrist feeling much better.  That being said, the more I wear the splint, the less happy I am with it.  I can’t DO anything!  it immbolizes me completely, and I have to remove it every time I change a diaper.  Which is in the neighborhood of %50 of the time!  Although, the pain relief is phenomenal, and for all my complaints, the splint might be worth that alone.

Well, I am off to clean my house, forego the all too tempting lazy day, and bake some cookies for my awesome neighbors, Chris and Chastity, in return for Chris’s daring rescue yesterday in which he assisted Allen in extracting my car from the snow so we could be to the doctor on time to check out the wrist!  Way to go  guys!  I am SO glad there are good strapping young lads in my life, makes snow removal that much easier!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

