Snow, Ice, Brooke, And More Snow!

Standard

Yesterday was uneventful, until Brooke came over for her regular ‘Save-Liz-From-Insanity’ visit.  We ate supper amid many stories and yarns from Sarah and Emma.  We decided on a quiet night in preceded by a trip to the library in search of a good movie to watch.  The library being 5 minutes up the road, this seemed simple and straightforward enough.  Allen pointed out that my car hadn’t been cleared off, so things were a bit complicated momentarily, till we got outside to find that the sun had done its work.  As we were shaking hands and smilingly congratulating ourselves over the fact that the snow and ice had melted off the car, we traipsed out to the car, piled in, started her up, only to find that the car was STUCK in the melted snow.  Whoops.  It took us a half hour, a shovel, ice scraper, time jumping on, pushing, yanking and rocking  the car to extract it from its icy prison.  once that was over, Brooke and I sped off to the library.  Dazzled by the number of titles, we perused eagerly while listening to storytime.  I was quite shocked to find that Brooke no longer remembered the wheels on the bus when I joined in eagerly with the storytime participants to find Brooke still browsing.  “aren’t you gonna sing too?” “Liz its been awhile since I sang wheels on the bus…”  “*GASP!*”  I figure though that there’s not much call for singing in dental assistantry, and even if there was, I’m sure wheels on the bus isn’t at the top of the queue… So on we went, browsing through.  We found the latest version of Emma, and being suckers for Jane Austen we eagerly brought it home!

At home, we baked an apple tart (it counted as my one dessert a day.. *sigh*) then settled in for Emma.  I must admit to being disappointed.  for an updated version with Johnny Lee Miller and Romola Garai, I was VERY disheartened  to find it  a bit slow and not as witty as I expected.  We didn’t finish it however, and I hope to be pleasantly surprised next week when we continue.  All in all, it was a lovely evening with Brooke as usual, and contained quite enough adventure and adult chatter to keep me going until next Wednesday!  Thank God for Brooke, she is my rock of adulthood keeping me from drowning in the abyss of brain cell loss induced by too much time with children.

This morning, baths were completed without incident.  No cuts, bruises, falls, or crying.  Hallelujah!  I went to the Doctor for my 6 week check up, and have been cleared for all strenuous activity.  Which means… tomorrow AM Ava and I are getting out the jogging stroller and taking a walk!  Abbe, Van, I am ready to start training!  Tips, ideas, etc, are ALL welcome!  erm.  isn’t it supposed to snow tomorrow?  uh oh.  I have to find a way to take a walk.  Anyone have a treadmill?  I also FINALLY made an appointment to see a doctor about my wrist (damn spiders.)  Tomorrow I should be getting an x-ray or somesuch at least.

I arrived home from the Doctor to visit with my Mom, Lisha, Miriam and Sheila Perez.  We had a lovely time over tuna, and my car got stuck in the snow again.  This time, in an attempt to free it, I managed to knock my Mom down, make a mess with ashes, and disturb the neighborhood with loud revving and spinning out.  Its still stuck.  Wish me luck to try and get it out for dance tonight!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

