It’s All Fun And Games Till Somebody Gets Hurt!

Standard

Every day I am surprised by the resilience of my children.  There are quite a few lessons to learn from their perseverance and tenacity.   Last night Emma cut herself.   I was getting something from the shower, while bathing her, and knocked down a razor from the safe place it was in.  Before I could grab it, Emma did.  She cut her thumb.  It wasn’t deep or stitch worthy, but it was painful, and it bled.  She cried and cried while I cleaned it, and applied neosporin and a band aid.  As soon as this ordeal was over, the cut didn’t exist anymore.  She didn’t care about it anymore.  Knowing myself, I probably wouldn’t have stopped whining about it for days.  Emma didn’t care, so long as she could eat, sleep, and play, it didn’t register.  There are a few lessons to be learned here.  Life doesn’t stop for the obstacles, and its more trouble than its worth to remind yourself daily of them.  Miss Emma isn’t stopped by anything, and thats what makes her so special.  Sarah cried as much as Emma did when she saw the cut being dressed, and all night she was hovering, making sure Emma was ok, and could still function.  I was proud of her motherly concern.  I understood too, that Emma wasn’t letting it slow her down, so why was Sarah so worried?  I think Sarah got that from me.   Sometimes your kids show you more of yourself, and teach you more than you could learn elsewhere.  Parenting really is a surprising journey.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

One response »

Leave a Reply

