Fun With Fire (Candles, That Is…)

Standard

We had a wonderful visit with Mike and Rachel yesterday, complete with movies, tiaras, wands, magic, and plenty of chatting.  The girls had a great time visiting, and so did I!  I will admit to a very bittersweet moment during the visit.  As I was holding Mia, and Rachel was holding Ava, I couldn’t help but remember another time when my baby and another baby shared their infancy.  I went back to one day in particular, Emma and Skylar in their little diapers, and nothing else, basking in the joy that only nudity on a sheepskin can provide.  Esther and I sat on the couch contentedly staring at our infants in all the glow of motherhood.   We talked about the future of our “twins,” and all the things they could do together.  It felt bittersweet to have another baby so close in age to mine.  While those memories are precious to remember, and something I cherish, I lost alot the day Skylar died, we all lost his smile, his future, and his own special warmth.  He may not have been my own child that I carried, delivered, and nurtured.  He was my baby’s twin though, and I loved him especially for that.  We had many hopes and dreams for him.  Every birthday, every milestone, they are not what we had planned.  I miss him, and I hope that our little man is up in heaven, growing big and strong, and enjoying every milestone with us.  I miss you little man.  I really do.   I hope Ava and Mia share alot along with their age, and I hope they both grow strong and healthy, and I am glad that they have lived well so far.  They are both sweet little babies with a big future ahead of them, and I’m sure that our angel baby is watching over them.  Love you little man!

After our visit with Mike and Rachel, Allen woke up around 4, and suppertime creeped toward me inexorably.  I was trying to find a creative way to make a meal out of one pork chop, and a frugal way, so I decided on stir fry.  I made my own teriyaki sauce (that was actually easy and very cheap.) grabbed some frozen veggies, fried em up with everything and added egg noodles.    Mmmm homemade lo mien!  Whilst I was cooking dinner, the unthinkable happened!  The power went out!  I shouted at the light fixture, and it came back on.  I was so glad!  We set dinner on the table, went through the usual “I don’t like this” and enjoyed our dinner family style.  Halfway through dinner, as I was dishing out another plate for somebody, the power went out again.  At this point, we broke out the candles, since it stayed out long enough to be inconvenient, and we were eating.   After lighting the candle, Emma burst out with “When we gonna sing Happy birthday?  Mommy blow it out! blow it out!”  We had a short discussion about power outages, and I explained to the kids how fun they were when I was a kid.  Crazy as this is, I was excited to spend a family night in the dark telling stories and making hand puppets!  The girls made some bunnies and ducks in the candlelight. This lasted all of… 3 minutes!  It quickly disintegrated into wrestling and screaming, and I found again, that the magical things you enjoyed as a child aren’t the same as an adult.   They were having fun, but I was not.  Allen and I tried to calm them down, separate them, ANYTHING!  but the giggle fits persisted, even as they were separated.  SO much for that.  Some days, being a parent really can be rough and very stressful.  This turned out to be one of them.  The girls finally calmed down, with quiet giggles, Emma yanking on my hair (she was “doing” it) and Sarah elbowing Allen in the ribs.  We tried to enjoy the “romance of candlelight” but the mood just wasn’t there.  Ava screamed, since she wanted “the human pacifier.”  Guess no magical night without power for me.  Sarah’s take on the whole ordeal?  “Mom, it was nicer when we had electricty.”  Can’t agree with you more Sarah, I can’t agree with you more.

This morning I awoke to Emma bouncing into Ava’s room “Mommy!  I want to sing to Avvvaaaaaa!”  I rescued Ava, who was startled by all the noise. (I swear Emma sounds like a herd of elephants)  I went in there, extracted the crying Ava from her bassinet and made a hasty retreat to my bedroom, at which point I realize Emma is no longer in my line of sight.  A loud “WAAAAaaaAAAAaaaaa Mommy, I want to HOOOOOOLD you!” wafts in from Ava’s bedroom.   I popped my head in to investigate, only to find Emma swaddled herself in blankets and was laying in the bassinet.   Good logic there I guess.  Mommy picked up a crying Ava from here, therefore Mommy will pick ME up from here.  Fair enough.  Except Mommy didn’t buy it!  I told her that if she wanted to hold me she could get her rear out of the bassinet, and find her way into my room, and that I’d gladly hold her, once she’d placed herself within holding distance.  That did the trick.  She followed my instructions, and received the hug of the century as reward.  Ahhhh Emma…

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

