Vote for Pedro

Standard

The past two days have been lazy with little to redeem them.  Yesterday we kind of just hung around at home, chatting, sleeping, and getting some cleaning done.  Today we went to church, and after some enjoyable socializing, we came home, ate lunch, and settled down for naps.  Boring, boring, boring.   We did discover that Sarah has a love of all things Napoleon Dynamite.  She thinks his drawings are “sweet.”  However, aside from the usual shenanigans, nothing of interest has occurred with the kids and myself.

As for me alone, I have been finding it increasingly difficult every day to stick to my “get healthy and lose weight” resolutions.   The call of ice cream and the recliner is sooooo strong.

Another thing weighing on my mind is the ever present school debate.   Allen and I are still sitting on the fence between the three options, Public, Private, and Homeschool.   I know no choice is perfect for our family, and our children, and that each individual child’s schooling needs are also different.  But I just can’t get this monkey off of my back.  I wish we could resolve it simply.  Allen suggested pulling one from a hat jokingly, and I really wish that this decision could be made that way.  It would be a lot easier.   As a teacher of young children, this is one of those “biggie” decisions I just can’t decide quickly or easily.  So I’ve decided to tell Allen my thoughts on all three options, and we’ve discussed a deadline on decision making.  Hopefully the “Allenator” can help me sort this out.  He’s always been a straight shot when making choices like this, so long as he has time to stew in the facts.  Wish us luck on making the right choice!

Hopefully tomorrow I will wake up more determined to do something useful, interesting, and important.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

4 responses »

  1. I am with you on so many levels Liz! One thing that COMPLETELY made up my mind to decide to TRY homeschooling was a book by Raymond and Dorothy Moore called “The Successful Homeschool Family Handbook.” I borrowed it from the local library and read it in no time. It was like a breath of fresh air, a God-send! I’d recommend it to anyone who is on the fence!

    • At least to start! I’d really like to make it work, especially during the elementary years. Also consider cyber schools at some point.

      • If you need anything, let me know! My mom homeschooled us to graduation. I spent one year in Public school during highschool, which was a good experience overall, but I can give you alot of info on homeschooling if you need it!

Leave a Reply

