Teachable Moments With The Wii

Standard

Our day was the usual day yesterday, the normal routine, play, clean, laugh, scream, talk, play, clean.  We had a good lunch of peanut butter and nutella sandwiches, a personal favorite of the girls, reserved for special occasions, such as weekends.  The noteworthy things happened later in the day, when I finally bowed to pressure and let Sarah try wii after my wii fitness time.  She tried tennis, baseball, and golf.  Amazingly this opened up to several discussions about how to lose properly, and if at first you don’t succeed, try try again.  Not only discussions ensued, but life experiences.  The wii team won the baseball game.  She told them congratulations, even though she was sad she lost.  She just couldn’t get the ball in the hole, but she tried and tried and tried, and finally she got it!  The look of satisfaction after she finally succeeded was priceless!  These were things I had worried about teaching my children properly, but I found out tonight, that life brings these lessons to your doorstep.  As parents we stress about being the perfect parents, we worry we won’t teach them everything, and then voila!  Life has an uncanny knack for bringing lessons to us.  So why do we stress?  Is parenting something that we should grow into or does it come to us?  I’ve found when it comes to me, it’s a mixture of both.  We grow into the responsibility, and life brings the rest.  Its one of those lemons and lemonade things.  The more I think about parenting, the more I stress, the worse I do, the more I read into it, the more complicated I make it.  The more I let life do its thing, God do his work, and my children make their own mistakes, the more guidance is a natural thing, instead of a forced perspective.   Parenting does need to be made hard, parenting is letting life’s hard knocks kick our kids around a bit, and talking openly about not only what we know, and wish to teach, but what we expect from them, and in life.  I don’t pretend to be an expert, or that I’ve parenting for a very long time (4+ years isn’t really that long in the parenting game.)  But the more I parent, the more I find it comes more naturally than I think.   I won’t be down hearted or stress about my role as a parent, its wired into me, its something God designed.  So I’m gonna let it come, and take it one day at a time!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

