Chopstick vs. Chapstick

Standard

Allow me to introduce you to Laugh Out Loud Parenting:

Sarah came into my bedroom yesterday morning, with her Bonne Bell chapstick, and said “Look Mom! I have chopstick!”  “Honey, Chopsticks are something you use to eat Chinese food.  CHAPstick is something you use on your lips!” I replied.  “Oh!” she said, and that was the end of that.

Hours later, at lunch, I put noodles on her plate, and said “enjoy your noodles girls!” and sat down to my lunch.  She whipped the chapstick out of her pocket, and began to slather her lips.  “What ARE you doing?” I said.  “I’m pretending this is Chinese and I’m using my chopstick!” she said triumphantly, as she applied it generously, her lips inches thick in chapstick.   Oooooookkkkkkkkk… guess I don’t wanna rock THIS boat…

The rest of the day was fairly normal, some eating here, playing there, a mess or two, a crises or two, and a few childish disagreements over toys.  I was all proud of myself for preparing for dance with Leah by getting supper ready ahead of time, instead of last minute, which always makes us late.  We ate, and were out the door at the right time, only to discover I never cleaned off my car from the snow!  It was COVERED!  by the time we defrosted, navigated snowy roads at a pace bordering on the crazy, we got to dance 15 minutes late… mission be-at-dance-on-time was a failure, but Leah handled it with her usual grace, and Sarah had a marvelous time.  I’m always amazed at what Leah teaches, and what they actually retain.  I ❤ dance!

In fulfillment of a promise, we spent the rest of our evening under a tent in the living room, eating popcorn and watching Bob Hope movies.  I figured if I promised my kids a “camping night” with movies included, only high quality cinema would be shown.  So we ended up with Bob Hope.   If only I owned a movie with Humphrey Bogart in it aside from Sabrina, Sarah has watched that quite a bit already.  I need to stack up on classic movies!  We enjoyed a story time following the movie, over our “campfire” of snowmen dolls covered in a blanket… imagination is the way to go! Then we slept downstairs all night! The girls were thrilled!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, I’m off to call the doctor about my wrist, since its still not quite 100%.  The swelling is minimal, but there is limited movement, which is not a good sign, so we’ll see.  Here’s hoping its only a sprain!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

