Growing Up (Is So Hard To Do)

Standard

Last night, Sarah’s behavior reminded me just how much she’s growing up. As she was put to bed, and she heard Allen leave for work, she shouted out “Goodbye Dad! Drive safely!” Emma immediately repeated her with her own “Goodnight Dad! It’s Five O’clock! Drive savvvvewy!” They went to sleep soon after he left, and there I was snuggling Ava, and thinking about how fleeting it all is. It was not so long ago I was holding Sarah as a newborn, Not that long ago that Emma was the new baby, and now Ava is already looking more like a healthy sturdy baby instead of a fragile newborn. They grow up. I love that they do, and I hate that they do. Babies are so sweet, Toddlers are so energetic, and Sarah as a preschooler is a riot. All her little mini adult behaviors make me laugh on a daily basis. Most of them wouldn’t translate to print, or this blog would be full of them! I love each one at every age, and yet I miss the age they were before. Motherhood is full of memories, since things go by so fast. I guess I will learn to enjoy each moment as it happens, and gladly tuck it away for future enjoyment as a memory, since nothing seems to last for long around here!

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

  1. Don’t worry, Liz… I’m sure before you know it, Sarah will be in elementary school, Emma will be a preschooler, Ava will be a toddler, and Baby #4 will be snuggling with you! Haha!

Leave a Reply

