“MOM! Your Belly Looks Like Noodles!” “Thanks Sarah…”

Standard

Holding Ava this morning reminded me of some very important things.   She is this precious, warm little bundle, and as she’s just hit a month old, I am mentally counting down to that two month mark, after which I feel I can breathe a little sigh of relief.  I can’t help myself but feel thankful for any and every minutes with her, since I know not every minute will last forever, and that any minute could be our last together. I am trusting that she will have a full and special life, but am reminded that not every life goes as long as we would wish, and so every moment is special.  And as my Aunt posted on her face book recently: “For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness. -Ralph Waldo Emerson”  this quote could apply to many things.  Worry, pain, preoccupation with unimportant details… In other words, I felt the need today to cherish EVERY second with my children, and find the joy in life again, joint pain or not.  Why let something that insignificant tarnish the joy in every moment?

So, today, I took note of some special moments:

*  Sarah made up a song for Ava:“Ava is cute, she’s growing everyday! She’s growing when she’s sleeping! She’s growing everyday and so are you!” She sang it to her so sweetly, and I was thankful that my children love each other.

She also had the cutest “conversation” with Ava.“Say Mommy! Say Mommy!“ I replied “Maybe she’ll say it when she’s older, I don’t think she’s ready yet” And Sarah’s response was: “Yes! When she’s older, maybe when she’s sixteen” *does eyebrow raise and smile* It was such a sweet moment.

*  Emma read a book to herself:“And Pooh was eating breakfast saying, ‘Stop it Tigger! Stop it!’”

*  They both wanted to wash dishes with me, so we all washed a pan and a spatula.  Emma’s triumphant “I DID IT!!”  was so joyful and energetic.  Sarah’s little grown up walk afterwards said it all, as she sashayed away from the sink saying “I wash dishes like a grown up, Mom.” *Hair flip, annnnnd cue the runway walk away, hand on hip*

*   Sarah also read a book on Dinosaurs, noting differences and categorizing them (my preschool teacher brain was in sweet sweet overload!)

*    Emma: talking to a crying Ava and sitting at her toy laptop, pushing buttons “What you wanna listen to?  Disney? Or Queen? Queen? Ok!” *taps button* “There ya go!”

*   Sarah got a glimpse of my post baby belly and word vomit ensued: “MOM! Your belly looks like noodles!!!”

Every moment is special, and well worth the time and attention taken to cherish them all.  This time won’t last long.  Ava won’t always be my sweet newborn, Emma won’t always be my joyful two year old, bursting with energy, and Sarah won’t always be my responsible preschooler aching to grow up.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

One response »

Leave a Reply

