No One Ever Plays With Me, I’m Bored Bored Bored, And My Little Sister Willow Is Bored Too!

Standard

I’m feeling boring today.  Perhaps because it is 6 AM, and I’m tired, and, well, boring!  Or, because yesterday was so exciting that I’m just in the low after the high?

Yesterday, I did something rather daring (for myself) and got out of the house with my kids.  I did it.  I took 3 children out, alone, only FOUR weeks into being a parent of 3! and I SURVIVED! It wasn’t as bad as I thought, I was exhausted afterward!  But it was worth it!  The girls and I went to a friends house, met my Mom along the way, and enjoyed a very nice lunch with both my friend and my Mom.  🙂 We had a great time!  After lunch, we had a quiet afternoon perusing a good book and discussing the philosophy that surrounds childrearing.  It was just so nice to get out and do grown up things with grown up people, and have my children behave in a semi civilized manner! We had a few “moments” to be sure, but overall it was a relaxing and peaceful afternoon talking and thinking and being “grown up!”  I needed that badly!

After all of our peaceful afternoon we rushed home for dinner, dance, and to see another friend of mine, who promised to stop by with some stuff. We had a nice 10 minute chat, and I laid down for a 30 minute nap with Ava, while Allen took some time with the girls.  (I love my husband!)   We ate an amazing supper of *gasp* peanut butter and jelly, and headed to dance with Leah!  Allen and I both got such a kick out of dance, because the girls (including their dance buddy, Megan) were so cute and having such a great time getting all that kid energy out!  After such a quiet afternoon of listening to talking, this was a MUCH needed bouncy energy jump up and down time!  They were WIRED!We took some pictures and videos, which were very interesting, they included a few potty breaks, and some SERIOUS dance moves!  We had a great time dancing with Leah! They were cute! After dance, they were exhausted, and fell asleep on the car ride home.  We put them to bed right when we got home, and Allen and I had some time alone, with Ava, where we watched a video of Ron Paul, talked politics, and ate pizza.  All in all it was an exciting, exhausting, and VERY enjoyable day!  Sometimes you just need that affirmation that you are a grown up, you are doing a good job with your kids, and some days can be grown up!  This is the part of maternity leave I will miss when I go back to work.  The time and inclination to get together with friends.  When you work so many hours a week, and have even less with your family, the time you do have is more theirs than anyone elses, and friends get less time on your priority list.  Either way, those 40 hours a week elsewhere make life much more complicated.  I’ve decided to relish these last weeks of maternity leave, and cherish the time I have with friends and family.

Now, here’s to today!  Hopefully it won’t be ALL boring!   We will find adventures, and enjoy them!  I’m thinking reading children’s books in a living room fort and tea, personally… 🙂

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

