“It” didn’t hit the fan, only the couch! And, Brooke Makes The Blog!

Standard

So, yesterday was a decent day, but then naptime came along, deviously, and with plans to unravel anyone in its path.  Sarah, the non-napper in the house, went about her business as usual.  At naptime, she plays quietly in the room of her choice, her bedroom, or the playroom.  Well, she chose the playroom, and played herself to sleep within a half hour.  Emma, on the other hand, stayed mercilessly awake.  Tired to a fault, she REFUSED to sleep.  I took it calmly at first, but the little conversations coming constantly from the couch was enough to drive me into insanity by the end:

“Mommy? Mommy? I wanna tell you something”

“Yes, Emma”

“Well…. I wanna tell you something”

“What is it?”

“I wanna tell you something”

“Well what do you wanna tell me?”

“I wanna tell you something…”

Enough of that is sufficient to drive anyone batty!  But, by 2:45, luck, and perseverance would have her sleeping, HALLELUJAH!

At that point, Sarah was awake.  She went upstairs, got bored, and came down to color with me.  One step down and BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM, she was down the stairs, and crying.  I was unnerved, since I couldn’t get to her fast enough, as I had been in the chair, holding a sleeping Ava.  She jumped up, (Thank God) and came running to me, directly following the fall.  This was enough to convince me there were no breaks, since she was moving pretty fast, and without a limp.  She crawled into my lap, and we both cried over it for about 5 minutes, and then she colored happily, sniffles here and there.  She did end up with a little carpetburn on her ribs, which scared me enough to keep a close eye on her for a few hours.  Thankfully, she is acting normal.  That was scary!   I’ll be checking up on her a lot for the next few days!  Color me paranoid, but I was terrified that she had sustained some terrible injury!  There are just some parts of parenting that you can’t laugh or smile about.  They remind you of the HUGE responsibility you carry in having kids, and of how much your heart and soul are involved in their life and well being.

The afternoon was lazy, with lots of coloring going on, and a visit from Brooke was VERY looked forward to.  After recovering, every five minutes were punctuated with “Mommy, is Brooke NEVER coming?!” Brooke finally arrived around suppertime, and assisted in the making of tasty tortillas and tacos!  We had a wonderful time!

Now comes the good part:

After supper, Brooke and I retired to the living room for tea and Monk on Netflix.  The girls retired to the playroom for Toy Story 3.  Allen flitted back and forth, dealing with various and sundry crises on both ends.   Emma decided to join Brooke and I, halfway through our Monk episode, and plopped on the couch, directly beside Brooke.  Brooke reached over to pull her in for a hug, then IT happened.  “Um Liz, Emma might need a diaper change” Brooke told me, as the smell wafted over.  No sooner had I reached for the wipes and diaper, that TRUE panic ensued.  “Its…. its on her FINGERS! HOW did IT get there?!” Brooke says as she leaps off the couch, both of us staring at Emma in horror.  I reached for her wrist, and held the offending hand high, and away from the furniture.  Allen entered, as we discovered Emma’s blanket, lovey, and Brooke’s sweater, were all affected…  “Take this child to the bathtub, I got this!”I said to Allen, as he swooped her upstairs (My hero!)  We immediately inspected the scene of the crime more closely.  We found swathes across the couch where she’d been sitting, and removed all offending articles, grabbing the upholstery cleaner as we went.  I am so glad we bought one for pet stains…  pray tell, do they make a “child stains” version?  As we cleaned up the mess, Brooke and I had one of those “just gotta laugh” moments, and enjoyed the adventure of children.  It was actually pretty funny once the smell was gone…  A clean Emma emerged and Allen announced there may be further damage elsewhere.  We went on a poop hunt, and found only one smear in the playroom, praising Emma’s foresight of clearing that area of the floor, since only the carpet was affected.  Good Emma!  Once the furor died down, Brooke and I returned to our Monk episode wiser, and with extra washed hands.   After Allen left for work, the night was done, Monk was done, hugs were doled out, and everyone snuggled into bed cleaner, and happier.   Whew! That was fun!

In today’s news: Good luck to Abbe and Van in Disney!  Rock ‘Em guys!

Abbe and Van are running for a very worthy cause in Disney’s 2011 marathon, for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society on January 9 in honor of their cousin, Alayna.  They leave today for Florida.  I wish them the best of luck, and all the best for Alayna as well, as she battles this awful disease.  You guys are all special in my book, and Alayna is a constant source of inspiration.   Go get ’em guys!

You can follow Abbe and Van here:

http://live.activeresult.com/msg/MSG-signup.tcl?event_id=3

Or you can read more about their experience on Van’s blog:

http://furiousball.com/inmydiatribe/

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

