Buying New Bodyparts and Coloring Conversations, Brought To You By The Letter B

Standard

This morning has been a slow one to warm up into normal every day business. Without taking arthritis medication, I would not characterize it as “manageable.” I’m having trouble with simple tasks, especially with my hands. This morning, Sarah asked me to untie a knot. I was having a hard time, so I joked “Mommy needs to buy new fingers! These ones are old!” Sarah replied “Mom, you can’t buy a new pair of fingers because you can’t just take those off!” and she scoffed and giggled just like an adult. How I love children’s responses to these things!
At breakfast we enjoyed a “treasure hunt” on the cereal box for letters we knew. Sarah was so proud of her accomplishments in that this morning! (and, the preschool teacher in me was assessing the entire time!)
Last night At dinner, Sarah and Emma were taking turns guessing dessert, in what was my favorite dinner conversation of all time;
Sarah: Mom, whats for dessert?
Me: Its a surprise!
Sarah:Is it SALAD!? Is it Popcorn?
Emma: Its GREEN BEANS!! *waves hands and sings it out*
Sarah: *gasp* Is it CHICKEN?!
*they are getting more and more excited and smiley with each guess… I am trying hard to choke down laughter, Allen is snickering behind Emma’s head*
Me: Nope! Its CAKE!
and everybody immediately dissolved into some kind of childish state of excitement. Totally worth the big reveal!
After supper we had this amazing conversation over coloring books. I asked Sarah what music she wanted to listen to, Debussy or Red Hot Chili Peppers. My girl picked Red Hot Chili Peppers, and I cheered inside a little. Thats my kid!
So, as I was coloring my Victorian Ladies coloring book, Sarah had Strawberry Shortcake, and Emma was bent over Tigger and Friends. I asked my husband to take a picture of it for the blog, since it was quite a peaceful moment, but alas, it didn’t last long. Emma got bored, and began to run around in circles screaming, and Sarah thought it looked like good fun and joined in. But before it degenerated into that, we had a charming conversation about what Sarah would be when she grows up, triggered by my prompt of “You know, when you go to school next year, we can do homework like this, I’ll do my homework while you do yours.” I was hoping to instill in her a healthy sense of doing things right away and working together. Her response? “Mom, when I grow up, I WILL do homework with you, and become a teacher, and work in your room downstairs! And we can be twins! I’ll have babies, and we’ll all be twins! All three of us! Esther, you, and me! This is what friends do, Mom.” and that grown-up head tilt and smile trotted out. Oh I held in the laughter, patted her hand and said “Good idea honey.”

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

