Bedtime Prayers and Little Discoveries

Standard

As we were sitting down to supper tonight, Sarah, Emma, and I, Sarah says “Mom, this is a family supper!  Our family has two more people who are missing! Daddy, and Ava!  Ava HAS to be here!  She’s in our family!”   That little statement gave me a little pause, since it was the first time I’d heard either child refer to Ava as part of the family.  It was a sweet thing to hear, and a bit of an encouragement that theres always room for more little people to love.  This doesn’t mean I’ll have 18 children, mind you, but its reassuring to know that my children don’t think I love them less because one more comes along.

Bedtime tonight was another one of those parenthood realizations.  After we did our bedtime story, Sarah started her prayers, which went something like this “Dear God, please keep us safe while Daddy is at work, help our house not to catch on fire, Amen!”  Yikes!  they really pick up on MY fears.  Maybe I ought to stop checking the ladder on the upstairs balcony, checking rooms for a clear path to the exit, leaving slippers by outside exits, and looking frantically for easily accessible jackets and blankets before going to bed.  Emma’s prayer was a little more lighthearted: “Dear God, please help me to go to my Daddy’s store and get a cookie, cause I like them there.  Amen!”   Too bad its not Daddy’s store anymore, but we’ll overlook it…  and I can probably hook ya up with better cookies here! 🙂

I love my kids, and I love parenting, it really is never the same from night to night or day to day.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

6 responses »

  1. I love this! My dad was CONSTANTLY making sure we had a clear path to windows and doors in case of a fire in the night. In fact, I often find myself saying to Joe…”this is a fire hazard and we need to clean it up!” LOL

Leave a Reply

