No Blood, No Foul!

Standard

“What happened now?  Any blood drawn?” this statement by Allen, in response to a dramatic shriek from Sarah struck me as funny, I don’t know why, but it did.  The reply was even better “noooooooo, my sister took my toyyyyyyyyyyyyy!” *sobbing*   This was immediately followed by Emma bursting into my bedroom, giggling uncontrollably, placing herself in my empty laundry basket, and Sarah’s sobs ceasing immediately, all the normal sounds of happy play commencing as if a switch had been thrown.  5 minutes later, a boo-boo crisis arose, requiring kissing of an injured foot. This is a normal day in the Sacks household.  Best part? Ava slept through it all.  I have to admit the events of the morning put me into spurts of uncontrollable laughter from time to time.  As parents we have to prioritize crises, and laugh a little at ourselves behind our hands after the crises is over, or go mad entirely.    Parenthood is full of these little childhood crises, the kinds that are so pressing and yet, to adults they seem trivial.  For children, affection, hugs, comfort, and the utmost gravity following a crises is essential.  For parents, a sense of humor and an ability to hide laughter at appropriate times is essential.  If I didn’t laugh, I think I’d go crazy.  So, I laugh!  Most times I laugh, but not every time.  I wasn’t laughing this morning when they opened the chocolate syrup bottle, and emptied it all over their clothes, (brand new, I might add! If they were naked, I think I would have laughed without delay) in an attempt to empty it into their mouths. I am laughing now though. Like we say, time heals all wounds, and stain remover gets all chocolate!  Thank God for modern parenthood!
Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to remove Einstein from the laundry basket, trying to avoid shocks from all the static electricity, and change her diaper…
After Einstein’s change, and the rough start to the morning, we spent a peaceful afternoon baking, and gorging on freshly baked gingerbread with cream cheese icing!  Our gingerbread house was a great big FAIL, and fell apart, to the delight of the girls!  They immediately devoured it whole, along with the gingerbread inhabitants thereof.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

2 responses »

  1. Someday, one of your kids will post these pics as awkward family pics and everyone will make funny comments and you will have a wonderful time of memories!

Leave a Reply

