Some Assembly Required

Standard

Last night was a rough one, so today may end up in sleep, for everyone.  I despise stomach bugs! Oddly enough, motherly foresight had me writing this entry last night before the onslaught began. I’m already blogging like I cook my dinners!!

SO, We finally did it! Unpacked the LAST Christmas present from the box! Sarah was all excited, as was Emma, since it was a beautiful dollhouse from Aunt Jo Anne and Uncle Pat, complete with magnetic “paper doll” like dolls. We got it out, and realized it wasn’t standing alone. Hmmm. Then we saw IT, a little baggie with instructions, an allen wrench, some screws, and parts. Uh oh. Some assembly required. I handed the instructions to Sarah (the preschool teacher in me wanted to see what she would do with it, and assess her pre-reading skills) She looked at them once (VERY illustration heavy instructions, so not too hard to figure out even without reading.) and then threw them to the ground dramatically “these instructions are RIDICULUOUS! I can’t read them!” “Oh, well what do you want me to do with these then?” I said, showing her the screws and allen wrench. “You put those in like this! See, says so right here” and she pointed to the instructions. Check! Her pre-reading skills are right on target! We’ve got decoding down! Pat self on back… So I got on with assembling. It wasn’t working quite right, took me three tries to assemble one out of two sides.   I took the opportunity for a teachable moment and asked her to help with the remaining part. “What this?“ she says, as she takes the allen wrench. “An allen wrench.” “oh, its Daddy’s? We’d better be CAREFUL!“   back to assembly, I let her fail a few times, one time ending in “lets stop, my hands are hot, and its not working.” I encouraged her, to try once more, and sure enough! Success! “Was that worth it?” I said, wanting to drive the point home that perseverance is ALWAYS worth it. “Nope.” She said. Damn. Lesson NOT learned. “But where do we put the Daddy wrench away? I want to play with the house!”

I guess it takes more than one teachable moment to learn this lesson. Chalk that one up to counting towards the EVENTUAL learning that perseverance is worth it. Guess parenting takes a little perseverance of its own.

About measureofagift

I am a mother of a growing group of sweet kids. We laugh, we cry, and we grow together in Christ. Every day is a new adventure. I love chocolate, sticky kisses, quirky smiles, and funny qoutables my kids come up with. :) Belly giggles, snuggling, and homeschooling round out the list of loves. Not every day is easy, but every day IS a beautiful gift. Our life as a family is slowly changing and growing as a result of a renewed interest in God's Word. His influence has been a slow process of sanctification, and this blog is evidence of it. Past posts, and current posts have changed in tone and goal, and are a testimony of all that has changed in our lives. <3 "Now, All glory to God who is able through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we could ask or think." Eph 3:20

Leave a Reply

